Mondolettosottoilcorvo & Fine Kwiatkowski

Thursday, 24. October 2019, 20 h (Saal 1)

Concert series Improvisation International

Live-Film-Dance-Music-Performance
Fine Kwiatkowski – dance, video
Gandolfo Pagano (IT) – guitar, electronics
Willehad Grafenhorst – bass, electronics, video

If there is a dancer who stands for dance and free improvisation, then it is Fine Kwiatkowski! Since the 1980s, she has been working intensively with a large number of the most well-known contemporary improvisation musicians and constantly designs her own projects. Since then, she has consistently developed an individual dance and movement language in which improvisation is at the center of attention. In 2003 she founded the multimedia art project cri du coeur with musician and composer Willehad Grafenhorst. And it was likewise him who founded the duo Mondolettosottoilcorvo in 2018 with the Sicilian guitarist Gandolfo Pagano. The Live-Film-Dance-Music-Performance about a Sicilian grotto is their first collaboration as a trio.

weiterlesen

ensemble explorativ

Saturday, 12. October 2019, 20 h (Saal 1)

Concert series explorations

Susanne Brian – dance, voice | Simon Jakob Drees – violin, voice | Corinna Eikmeier – cello | Frank Fiedler – percussion | Thomas Gerwin – percussion, objects, electronics | Ulrike Lentz – flutes | Bettina Mainz – dance | Annemarie Michel – piano, sound objects | Linda Scheckel – visual art | Janine Schneider – dance | Matthias Schwabe – flute, viola, sound objects | Rainer Stolz – words, voice | Christian Wolz – voice

Improvisation in music, dance, poetry und visual arts: Once every year the ensemble explorativ brings together teachers from the exploratorium berlin live on stage – as a large ensemble as well as in small groups.

weiterlesen

Open stage

Exhibition with gouaches by Doris Kollmann, inspired by the workshop of Maggie Nicols

From Tuesday, 1.10.19, in foyer 2 of the exploratorium berlin (staircase D)

Opening at 19.30 h with the Whathappensnext-Ensemble Berlin

BL_Kollmann2

In March 2019, painter Doris Kollmann participated in the explo workshop “Whatever arises – Practices of Freedom” with Maggie Nichols. The intense experience in the group, the incredible energy and profound wisdom of Maggie Nicols’ were like a treasure the artist took to the studio. On the basis of recordings of the workshop, she was once again immersed in these improvisations. The gouaches combine remembrance, reflection and free improvisation on paper.weiterlesen

Where is the Sun

Sunday, 22. September 2019, 20 h (Saal 1)

Concert series Improvisation International

Dieb13 (AT) – turntables
Isabelle Duthoit (FR) – voice, clarinet
Franz Hautzinger (AT) – microtonal trumpet
Martin Tétreault (CA) – turntables

Where is the Sun takes a whirlwind of organic sounds at the crossroads of acoustics and electronics. Its alchemy is so refined that one does not know, very often, who does what.

weiterlesen

Usual Things – Unusual Sounds

Concert for the whole family with the ensemble SAROTTI INSTANT as part of the festival Klang der Dinge

Sunday, 8. September 2019, 15 h (Location: Schaubude Berlin, www.schaubude.berlin)

Ensemble Sarotti Instant: Tatjana Bielke – musical saw, voice | Eglof Berger – electronics | Peter Czekay – trumpet | Claudia Hartmann – voice, percussion | Hendrik Rüßmann – piano | Matthias Schwabe – flute, viola | all: sound objects

The ensemble for free improvisation SAROTTI INSTANT was founded in 2007 in the exploratorium berlin. Since 2015 the ensemble has been developing forms of play that involve children in various ways, for example through musical quizzes or the co-determination of different ensembles or even musical processes. After the concert, the audience can explore many of the sound resources themselves.

weiterlesen

Trevor Watts 80th Birthday Jubilee: Dialogues with Strings (GB)

Sunday, 11. August 2019, 20 h (Saal 1)

Concert series Improvisation International

Trevor Watts – saxophones
Alison Blunt – violin
Hannah Marshall – cello
Veryan Weston – piano

The saxophonist Trevor Watts is an important key figure not only in the British improvisation scene. Together with John Stevens and Paul Rutherford in 1965 he founded the famous and influential Spontaneous Music Ensemble. He also worked with free jazz greats such as Don Cherry, Archie Shepp or Steve Lacy and cooperated frequently with musicians from African countries (Moiré Music and others). This year, it’s his 80th birthday, which he celebrates at various locations with jubilee concerts – one of them at the exploratorium berlin!

weiterlesen

David Rothenberg & Elliott Sharp

Nightingales in Berlin & IrRational Music

Concert & Book Presentation

Thursday, 6. June 2019, 20 h: concert | 21 h: reading & talk (Saal 1)

David Rothenberg – clarinet, book presentation
Elliott Sharp – e-guitar, book presentation

In this exclusive Berlin event, Elliott Sharp and David Rothenberg first engage in duo improvisations followed by a conversation about their two new books and their philosophies.weiterlesen

speak easy xtended

Saturday, 25. Mai 2019, 20 h (Saal 1)

Concert series Improvisation International

Ute Wassermann – voice
Phil Minton (GB) – voice
Thomas Lehn (AT/DE) – analogue synthesizer
Martin Blume – drums, percussion
+
Magda Mayas – piano
Liz Allbee (US/DE) – trumpet

Since 2008, the high-calibre quartet speak easy has successfully collaborated with the two vocalists Phil Minton and Ute Wassermann as well as Thomas Lehn on analog synthesizer and drummer and percussionist Martin Blume. Now they play a jubilee concert for the 15th birthday of exploratorium.
weiterlesen

Tony Oxley & Stefan Hölker

Sunday, 7. April 2019, 20 h (Saal 1)

Series “Improvisation International”

Tony Oxley (GB/DE) – electronics
Stefan Hölker – percussion

Tony Oxley is famous as a drummer and congenial partner of free jazz legend Cecil Taylor. Less known is his work as an electronic musician, which he presents together with the percussionist Stefan Hölker at exploratorium.

weiterlesen

Trio Generations

Friday, 15. March 2019, 20 h (Saal 1) – change of programme!

Series “Improvisation International”

Maggie Nicols (GB) – voice, tap-dance
Lisa Ullén (SE) – piano
Matilda Rolfsson (SE/NO) – bass drum, percussion

Because Lisa Ullén had to cancel at short notice, the concert will take place with the following line-up:

  • Set 1: Duo Generations: Maggie Nicols & Matilda Rolfsson
  • Set 2: Duo Generations & Joel Grip (double bass)

Trio Generations are three free-improvising musicians from three different generations, all of them being important key figures in their respective cultural environments: The famous UK singer Maggie Nicols (*1948), pianist Lisa Ullén (*1964) from the core of Sweden’s improvisation scene and Swedish percussionist Matilda Rolfsson (* 1987) on whose initiative the band met 2016 in London for the first time.

weiterlesen

Welche Farbe hat ein Pfiff? Und wie klingt die spitze Ecke?

Saturday, 2. March 2019, 15 h (Saal 1)  – has to be cancelled

Pupils of the  Johann-Strauß Primary School in Hellersdorf-Marzahn present results of their project in music and art.

Facilitators: Kathrin von Kieseritzky (musician) und Ynez  de Zilón (visual artist, sound artist)weiterlesen

Sound and Lecture – Improvisation im Dialog

Nº 12: [Tradition(en): Zerlegt & Zusammen: Gesetz] ensemble ɛkstʁaktə

Concert interspersed with discourse

Friday, 1. Februar 2019, 20 h (Saal 1)

Sandeep Bhagwati (IN/DE/CA) – musical direction | Sören Birke – blues harmonica, duduk | Gene Coleman (US/DE) (Gast) – bass clarinet | Klaus Janek – double bass, live electronics | Ji-eun Kang (KR) – Haegeum | Margret Köll –  baroque harp | Deniza Popova (BG/DE) – (bulgarian) chant |  Ravi Srinivasan (IN/MY) – hindustani chant, tabla, whistles | Hong Yoo (KR) – deageum, changgu

Do we actually stop to develop our listening? Do we always hear the same thing, even when we listen to foreign music? What is foreign music anyway? In a concert we want to explore these questions sensually and verbally.

weiterlesen

Sestetto Internazionale

Thursday, 17. January 2019, 20 h (Saal 1)

Series “Improvisation International”

Sestetto Internazionale

Alison Blunt (GB) – violin
Achim Kaufmann – piano
Veli Kujala (FI) – microtone accordion
Gianni Mimmo (IT) – soprano saxophone
Ignaz Schick – turntables, objects
Harri Sjöström (FI/DE) – soprano and sopranino saxophone

Absolutely unusual lined up sextet, Sestetto Internazionale delivers intriguing inventive, fresher, refined instant compositions. Brilliant interplay, intriguing inner voices and tone nuance declinations are the sincere output of Sestetto Internazionale featuring some of the most innovative voices in the contemporary improvised music scene. Contemporary flavours, subtle narrations, detailed soundscapes and chamber music elegance in an engaging performance.

weiterlesen

EMIR meets Berlin friends

Sunday, 16. December 2018, 20 h (Saal 1)

SeriesImprovisation International”

Ensemble de Musique Improvisée en Résidence (EMIR) (FR) meets Berlin friends and other guests

EMIR:
Laurent Charles – saxophone | Emmanuel Cremer – cello | Gérard Fabbiani – bass clarinet | Charles Fichaux – percussion | Lionel Garcin – saxophone | György Kurtág jr. (HU) – synthesizer

Berlin friends:
Rudi Fischerlehner – drums, percussion | Reinhard Gagel – piano, accordion | Emilio Gordoa – vibraphone | Brad Henkel – trumpet | Hui-Chun Lin – cello | Klaus Kürvers – double bass | Matthias Schwabe – flute, viola, objects | Biliana Voutchkova – violin | Ute Wassermann – voice | Håvard Wiik – piano

Further guests:
Vlatko Kucan (BA/DE) – clarinet, saxophone | Philippe Lemon – saxophone

The EMIR music collective is active in the improvisation scene and was founded in the early 2000s as part of the Autour de l’Improvisation meeting initiated by double bass player Barre Phillips. For a few days, it comes to exploratorium for a residence to meet Berlin musicians, with whom they also play the concert.

weiterlesen

David Moss // duo-mono-lith

Thursday, 29. November 2018, 20 h (Saal 1)

Series “Improvisation International”

David Moss
David Moss (US/DE) – voice

duo-mono-lith
David Moss – voice
Boris Hegenbart – electronics

David Moss – singer, drummer, performer, composer – is considered one of the most innovative soloists in contemporary music. He first performs a solo and then plays with the electronics musician Boris Hegenbart in their duo-mono-lith.

weiterlesen

Tiger Trio

Sunday, 11. November, 2018, 20 h (Saal 1)

Series “Improvisation International”

Joëlle Léandre (FR) – contrabass
Myra Melford (US) – piano
Nicole Mitchell (US) – flute

The three improvisation masters Joëlle Léandre, Nicole Mitchell and Myra Melford have been forming the Tiger Trio for several years now. Their music is disciplined and focused; and their interaction is based on mutual understanding and unifying team spirit – unlike their name Tiger Trio or even the title of their album unleashed it may suggest.

weiterlesen

The People Band

Sunday, 14. October 2018, 20 h (Saal 1)

Series “Improvisation International”

Terry Day – drums, percussion
Mike Figgis – trumpet, flugelhorn, electric guitar
Charlie Hart – double bass, electric bass, violin
George Khan – saxophones, flute
Paul Jolly – bass clarinet, saxophones, flute
Davey Payne – saxophones, flute

Six original members of the legendary British People Band are coming to exploratorium berlin and arouse their “anarchic energies and radical turbulence” with their “unfettered approach to improvising” (The Wire)!

weiterlesen

Globe Unity Orchestra

Thursday, 27. September 2018, 20 h (Saal 1)

Series “Improvisation International”

Henrik Walsdorff – alto saxophone | Rudi Mahall – clarinet, bass clarinet | Axel Dörner – trumpet | Tomasz Dabrowski (PL/DK) – trumpet | Christof Thewes – trombone | Gerhard Gschlößl – trombone | Alexander von Schlippenbach – piano, direction | Tristan Honsinger (NL/DE) – cello | Oliver Steidle – drums

After having welcomed the legendary Schlippenbach Trio several times in the past, the famous Globe Unity Orchestra is now playing for the first time in the exploratorium berlin!

weiterlesen

Iana // Owl

Sunday, 9. September 2018, 20 h (Saal 1)

Series “Improvisation International”

Promising are already the names of the two duos Iana and Owl. The pianist duo Iana (by Christine Wodrascka and Betty Hovette) is named after the Roman god Ianus, who stands for duality as well as for origin and end, openness and communication. The duo Owl (by Karl Bjorå and Signe Emmeluth) is named after the owl as a symbol of wisdom.

weiterlesen

ensemble explorativ

Saturday, 25. August 2018, 20 h (Saal 1)

Series “explorations”

Simon Jakob Drees – violin, voice | Frank Fiedler – percussion | Thomas Gerwin – percussion, objects, electronics | Tayfun Guttstadt – ney | Klaus Holsten – flutes | Bettina Mainz – dance | Alexander Piper – percussion, objects, piano | Linda Scheckel – visual art | Janine Schneider – dance | Matthias Schwabe – flute, viola, percussion | Aida Shahidi – percussion, objects, voice | Rainer Stolz – words, voiceweiterlesen

Bühnenpräsenz – Die Kunst des Sichtbarseins

Bühnenpräsenz in der Improvisation für MusikerInnen

2. – 3. November 2019, Leitung: Christian Wolz

Wie fühle ich mich vor einem Konzert? Habe ich feste Rituale, die mir helfen, meine Konzentration zu fokussieren und mit Nervosität umzugehen? Was verrät meine Körpersprache?

In diesem Workshop werden neue Zugänge zur eigenen Präsenz erschlossen. Die Entwicklung der „bewussten“ Präsenz bedeutet eine Bereicherung und Erweiterung der eignen künstlerischen Persönlichkeit.weiterlesen

Mondolettosottoilcorvo & Fine Kwiatkowski

Donnerstag, 24. Oktober 2019, 20 h (Saal 1)

Konzertreihe Improvisation International

Live-Film-Tanz-Musik-Performance
Fine Kwiatkowski – Tanz, Video
Gandolfo Pagano (IT) – Gitarre, Elektronik
Willehad Grafenhorst – Bass, Elektronik, Video

Wenn es eine Tänzerin gibt, die für Tanz und freie Improvisation steht, dann ist es Fine Kwiatkowski! Seit den 1980er-Jahren arbeitet sie intensiv mit einer Vielzahl der bekanntesten zeitgenössischen ImprovisationsmusikerInnen und konzipiert beständig eigene Projekte. Konsequent entwickelte sie seither eine individuelle Tanz- und Bewegungssprache, bei der durchgängig die Improvisation im Mittelpunkt steht. 2003 gründete sie mit dem Musiker und Komponisten Willehad Grafenhorst das multimediale Kunstprojekt cri du coeur. Dieser wiederum gründete 2018 mit dem sizilianischen Gitarristen Gandolfo Pagano das Duo Mondolettosottoilcorvo. Die Live-Film-Tanz-Musik-Performance zu einer sizilianischen Grotte ist ihre erste Kooperation als Trio.

weiterlesen

ensemble explorativ

Samstag, 12. Oktober 2019, 20 h (Saal 1)

Konzertreihe explorations

Susanne Brian – Tanz, Stimme | Simon Jakob Drees – Violine, Stimme | Corinna Eikmeier – Cello | Frank Fiedler – Perkussion | Thomas Gerwin – Schlagwerk, Objekte, Elektronik | Ulrike Lentz – Flöten | Bettina Mainz – Tanz | Annemarie Michel – Klavier, Klangmaterialien | Linda Scheckel – Visuelles | Janine Schneider – Tanz | Matthias Schwabe – Flöte, Viola, Klangmaterialien | Rainer Stolz – Sprache, Stimme | Christian Wolz – Stimme

Improvisation in Musik, Tanz, Poesie und Bildender Kunst: Das ensemble explorativ versammelt Dozentinnen und Dozenten des exploratorium berlin einmal jährlich live auf der Bühne – als Großgruppe ebenso wie in verschiedenen Kleingruppen-Besetzungen.

weiterlesen

Whatever Arises

Ausstellung mit Gouachen von Doris Kollmann zum Workshop von Maggie Nicols

ab Dienstag, 1.10.19 im Foyer 2 des exploratorium berlin (Aufgang D)

Eröffnung um 19.30 h mit dem Whathappensnext-Ensemble Berlin

BL_Kollmann2
Im März 2019 nahm die Malerin Doris Kollmann am explo-Workshop „Whatever arises – Practices of Freedom“ mit Maggie Nichols teil. Die intensive Erfahrung in der Gruppe, die unglaubliche Energie und tiefe Lebensweisheit Maggie Nicols´ waren wie ein Schatz, den die Künstlerin mit ins Atelier nahm. Anhand von Mitschnitten des Workshops konnte sie noch einmal in diese Improvisationen eintauchen. Die Gouachen vereinen Erinnern, Reflektieren und freies erneutes Improvisieren auf dem Papier.weiterlesen

Where is the Sun

Sonntag, 22. September 2019, 20 h (Saal 1)

Konzertreihe Improvisation International

Dieb13 (AT) – Turntables
Isabelle Duthoit (FR) – Stimme, Klarinette
Franz Hautzinger (AT) – Mikrotonale Trompete
Martin Tétreault (CA) – Turntables

Where is the Sun sind ein Wirbelwind von organischen Klängen an der Kreuzung von Akustik und Elektronik. Ihre Alchemie ist so verfeinert, dass man oft nicht erkennen kann, welche Klänge von wem stammen.

weiterlesen

Gewöhnliche Dinge – ungewöhnliche Klänge

Konzert für die ganze Familie mit dem Improvisationsensemble SAROTTI INSTANT im Rahmen des Festivals Klang der Dinge

Sonntag, 8. September 2019, 15 h (Ort: Schaubude Berlin, www.schaubude.berlin)

Ensemble Sarotti Instant: Tatjana Bielke – Singende Säge, Stimme | Eglof Berger – Elektronik | Peter Czekay – Trompete | Claudia Hartmann – Stimme, Perkussion | Hendrik Rüßmann – Klavier | Matthias Schwabe – Flöte, Viola | alle: klingende Materialien

Das Ensemble für Freie Improvisation SAROTTI INSTANT hat sich 2007 im exploratorium berlin gegründet und entwickelt seit 2015 Spielformen, die Kinder auf verschiedenartige Weise einbeziehen, z. B. durch musikalische Ratespiele oder das Mitbestimmen über verschiedene Besetzungen oder gar musikalische Abläufe. Nach dem Konzert kann das Publikum viele der verwendeten Klangmittel selbst erkunden.

weiterlesen

Trevor Watts 80th Birthday Jubilee: Dialogues with Strings (GB)

Sonntag, 11. August 2019, 20 h (Saal 1)

Konzertreihe Improvisation International

Trevor Watts – Saxophone
Alison Blunt – Geige
Hannah Marshall – Cello
Veryan Weston – Klavier

Der Saxophonist Trevor Watts ist eine bedeutende Schlüsselfigur nicht nur der britischen Improvisationsszene. Zusammen mit John Stevens und Paul Rutherford gründete er 1965 das berühmte und einflussreiche Spontaneous Music Ensemble. Auch arbeitete er mit Free Jazz-Größen wie Don Cherry, Archie Shepp oder Steve Lacy und kooperierte vielfach mit Musikern aus afrikanischen Ländern (Moiré Music u. a.). In diesem Jahr feiert er seinen 80. Geburtstag, was er an verschiedenen Orten mit Jubiläumskonzerten zelebriert – eines davon im exploratorium berlin!

weiterlesen

David Rothenberg & Elliott Sharp

Nightingales in Berlin & IrRational Music

Konzert & Buchpräsentation

Donnerstag, 6. Juni 2019, 20 h: Konzert | 21 h: Lesung & Gespräch (Saal 1)

David Rothenberg – Klarinette, Buchpräsentation
Elliott Sharp – E-Gitarre, Buchpräsentation

In dieser einmaligen Berliner Veranstaltung treten Elliott Sharp und David Rothenberg im ersten Set als Duo-Improvisatoren auf, gefolgt von einem Gespräch über ihre beiden neuen Bücher und über ihre Philosophien.

In englischer Sprache, nähere Informationen auf der englischen Seite weiterlesen

speak easy xtended

Samstag, 25. Mai 2019, 20 h (Saal 1)

Konzertreihe Improvisation International

Ute Wassermann – Stimme
Phil Minton (GB) – Stimme
Thomas Lehn (AT/DE) – Analog-Synthesizer
Martin Blume – Schlagzeug, Perkussion
+
Magda Mayas – Klavier
Liz Allbee (US/DE) – Trompete

Seit 2008 arbeitet das hochkarätig besetzte Quartett speak easy mit den beiden VokalistInnen Phil Minton und Ute Wassermann sowie Thomas Lehn am Analog-Synthesizer und dem Schlagzeuger und Perkussionisten Martin Blume erfolgreich zusammen. Nun spielen sie ein Jubiläumskonzert zum 15. Geburtstag des exploratorium.
weiterlesen

Sound and Lecture – Improvisation im Dialog

Nº 13: Zeiten ändern sich – Partita Radicale

Konzert durchwirkt mit Diskursen

Donnerstag, 2. Mai 2019, 20 h (Saal 1)

Gunda Gottschalk – Violine
Ortrud Kegel – Querflöte
Karola Pasquay – Querflöte
Ute Völker – Akkordeon

Moderation: Reinhard Gagel

In dem Programm as time goes by stellt das Ensemble Partita Radicale den Themenkomplex von Veränderung und Erneuerung, Abschied und Aufbruch in den Mittelpunkt des künstlerischen Interesses und reagiert damit auf unübersehbare Veränderungen im kulturellen Umfeld.

weiterlesen

Tony Oxley & Stefan Hölker

Sonntag, 7. April 2019, 20 h (Saal 1)

Konzertreihe „Improvisation International“

Tony Oxley (GB/DE) – Elektronik
Stefan Hölker – Perkussion

Tony Oxley ist berühmt als Schlagzeuger und kongenialer Partner von Free Jazz-Legende Cecil Taylor. Weniger bekannt ist seine Arbeit als Elektroniker, die er gemeinsam mit dem Perkussionisten Stefan Hölker im exploratorium präsentiert.

weiterlesen

Trio Generations

Freitag, 15. März 2019, 20 h (Saal 1) – Achtung, Programmänderung!

Konzertreihe „Improvisation International

Maggie Nicols (GB) – Stimme, Stepptanz
Lisa Ullén (SE) – Klavier
Matilda Rolfsson (SE/NO) – Bassdrum, Perkussion

Weil Lisa Ullén kurzfristig absagen musste, wird das Konzert mit folgender Besetzung stattfinden:

  • Set 1: Duo Generations: Maggie Nicols & Matilda Rolfsson
  • Set 2: Duo Generations & Joel Grip (Kontrabass)

Das Trio Generations sind drei frei improvisierende Musikerinnen aus drei verschiedenen Generationen, die alle wichtige Schlüsselfiguren in ihrem jeweiligen kulturellen Umfeld sind: Die berühmte britische Sängerin Maggie Nicols (* 1948), die Pianistin Lisa Ullén (* 1964) aus dem Herzen der schwedischen Improvisationsszene und die schwedische Perkussionistin Matilda Rolfsson (* 1987), auf deren Initiative die Band 2016 zum ersten Mal in London zusammentraf.

weiterlesen

Welche Farbe hat ein Pfiff? Und wie klingt die spitze Ecke?

Samstag, 2. März 2019, 15 h (Saal 1) muss leider entfallen!

Schülerinnen und Schüler der Johann-Strauß-Grundschule Hellersdorf-Marzahn präsentieren Ergebnisse ihre Projektergebnisse.

Projektleitung: Kathrin von Kieseritzky (Musikerin) und Ynez  de Zilón (Bildende Künstlerin, sound artist).

Im Rahmen einer musikalisch-künstlerischen Projektreihe tauchen Schülerinnen und Schülern der 4.-6. Klassenstufen in die Welt der graphisch und skulptural notierten Musik ein. Unter Bezugnahme auf diesen spezifischen musikalisch-künstlerischen Brückenschlag lassen sich improvisatorische und kompositorische Grundprinzipien ganz unmittelbar einführen und erfahren. weiterlesen

Sound and Lecture – Improvisation im Dialog

Nº 12: [Tradition(en): Zerlegt & Zusammen: Gesetz] ensemble ɛkstʁaktə

Konzert durchwirkt mit Diskurs

Freitag, 1. Februar 2019, 20 h (Saal 1)

Sandeep Bhagwati (IN/DE/CA) – Musikalische Leitung | Sören Birke – Bluesharmonika, Duduk | Gene Coleman (US/DE) (Gast) – Bassklarinette | Klaus Janek – Kontrabass, Live-Elektronik | Ji-eun Kang (KR) – Haegeum | Margret Köll –  Barockharfe | Deniza Popova (BG/DE) – (Bulgarischer) Gesang | Ravi Srinivasan (IN/MY) – Hindustani-Gesang, Tabla, Pfeifen | Hong Yoo (KR) – Deageum, Changgu

Bleiben wir eigentlich im Hören stehen? Hören wir immer dasselbe, auch wenn wir uns fremde Musik anhören? Was ist überhaupt fremde Musik? In einem Konzert wollen wir diese Fragen sinnlich und verbal erforschen.

weiterlesen

Sestetto Internazionale

Donnerstag, 17. Januar 2019, 20 h (Saal 1)

Konzertreihe „Improvisation International“

Sestetto Internazionale

Alison Blunt (GB) – Geige
Achim Kaufmann – Klavier
Veli Kujala (FI) – Mikrotonales Akkordeon
Gianni Mimmo (IT) – Sopransaxofon
Ignaz Schick – Turntables, Objekte
Harri Sjöström (FI/DE) – Sopran- und Sopraninosaxofon

Das Sestetto Internazionale ist ein Sextett mit einer recht ungewöhnlichen Besetzung, das faszinierend einfallsreiche, lebhafte und feinsinnige Instant-Kompositionen spielt. Brillantes Zusammenspiel, verblüffende  Stimmführungen und Deklinationen von Tonnuancen sind die Charakteristika des Sestetto Internazionale, das einige der innovativsten Stimmen der aktuellen Improvisationsszene zusammenbringt. Zu erwarten sind zeitgenössische Anmutungen, raffinierte Erzählungen, detailgenaue soundscapes und kammermusikalische Eleganz in einer mitreißenden Performance.

weiterlesen

EMIR meets Berlin friends

Sonntag, 16. Dezember 2018 (Saal 1)

Konzertreihe „Improvisation International“

Ensemble de Musique Improvisée en Résidence (EMIR) (FR) meets Berlin friends and other guests

EMIR:
Laurent Charles – Saxofon | Emmanuel Cremer – Cello | Gérard Fabbiani – Bassklarinette | Charles Fichaux – Perkussion | Lionel Garcin – Saxofon | György Kurtág jr. (HU) – Synthesizer

Berlin friends:
Rudi Fischerlehner – Schlagzeug, Perkussion | Reinhard Gagel – Piano, Akkordeon | Emilio Gordoa – Vibraphon | Brad Henkel – Trompete | Hui-Chun Lin – Cello | Klaus Kürvers – Kontrabass | Matthias Schwabe – Flöte, Viola, Objekte | Biliana Voutchkova – Violine | Ute Wassermann – Stimme | Håvard Wiik – Piano

Weitere Gäste:
Vlatko Kucan (BA/DE) – Klarinette, Saxofon | Philippe Lemon – Saxofon

Das Musikerkollektiv EMIR ist in der Improvisationsszene aktiv und hat sich in den frühen 2000er Jahren im Rahmen der von dem Kontrabassisten Barre Phillips initiierten Treffen Autour de l’Improvisation gegründet. Es ist für einige Tage zu einer Residenz im exploratorium und trifft dabei auf Berliner Musiker, mit denen es gemeinsam das Konzert bestreitet.

weiterlesen

David Moss // duo-mono-lith

Donnerstag, 29. November 2018, 20 h (Saal 1)

Konzertreihe “Improvisation International”

David Moss
David Moss (US/DE) – Stimme

duo-mono-lith
David Moss – Stimme
Boris Hegenbart – Elektronik

David Moss – Sänger, Schlagzeuger, Performer, Komponist – gilt als einer der innovativsten Solisten der zeitgenössischen Musik. Er performt zunächst ein Solo und spielt sodann mit dem Elektroniker Boris Hegenbart im duo-mono-lith.

weiterlesen

The Art of Selfie

Montag, 26. November 2018, 18 h (Saal 1+2)

 

Performances & Gespräch sowie Zeichnungen, Fotos & Videos aus den 70er und 80er Jahren

zum 80. Geburtstag von Fridhelm Klein

 

18 h (Saal 2):

Eröffnung der Ausstellung mit Zeichnungen
Silvie-Lisa Sperlich liest biographische Notizen

19 h (Saal 1):

Performances und Gespräch mit Fridhelm Klein, Matthias Schwabe und den Ensembles Berlin EARport & Sarotti Instant

weiterlesen

Tiger Trio

Sonntag, 11. November 2018, 20 h (Saal 1)

Konzertreihe “Improvisation International”

Joëlle Léandre (FR) – Kontrabass
Myra Melford (US) – Klavier
Nicole Mitchell (US) – Flöte

Die drei Meisterinnen der Improvisation Joëlle Léandre, Nicole Mitchell und Myra Melford bilden seit einigen Jahren das Tiger Trio. Ihre Musik ist diszipliniert und fokussiert; und ihr Zusammenspiel basiert auf wechselseitigem Verständnis und einheitsstiftendem Teamgeist – anders als ihr Bandname Tiger Trio oder gar der Titel ihres Albums unleashed (entfesselt) es vielleicht suggerieren.

weiterlesen

The People Band

Sonntag, 14. Oktober 2018, 20 h (Saal 1)

Konzertreihe “Improvisation International”

Terry Day – Schlagzeug, Perkussion
Mike Figgis – Trompete, Flügelhorn, E-Gitarre
Charlie Hart – Kontrabass, E-Bass, Geige
George Khan – Saxofone, Flöte
Paul Jolly – Bassklarinette, Saxofone, Flöte
Davey Payne – Saxofone, Flöte

Sechs Originalmitglieder der Britischen legendären People Band kommen ins exploratorium berlin und entfachen mit ihrer „uneingeschränkten Herangehensweise an Improvisation“ ihre „anarchischen Energien und radikalen Turbulenzen“ (The Wire)!

weiterlesen

Globe Unity Orchestra

Donnerstag, 27. September 2018, 20 h (Saal 1)

Konzertreihe “Improvisation International”

Henrik Walsdorff – Altsaxofon | Rudi Mahall – Klarinette, Bassklarinette | Axel Dörner – Trompete | Tomasz Dabrowski (PL/DK) – Trompete | Christof Thewes – Posaune | Gerhard Gschlößl – Posaune | Alexander von Schlippenbach – Klavier, Leitung | Tristan Honsinger (NL/DE) – Cello | Oliver Steidle – Schlagzeug

Nachdem wir in der Vergangenheit das legendäre Schlippenbach Trio schon mehrfach bei uns begrüßen durften, spielt das berühmte Globe Unity Orchestra jetzt erstmalig im exploratorium berlin!

weiterlesen

Iana // Owl

Sonntag, 9. September 2018, 20 h (Saal 1)

Konzertreihe “Improvisation International”

Vielversprechend sind schon die Namen der beiden Duos Iana und Owl. Das Pianistinnen-Duo Iana (von Christine Wodrascka und Betty Hovette) hat sich nach dem römischen Gott Ianus benannt, der für Dualität ebenso wie für Ursprung und Ende, Offenheit und Kommunikation steht. Das Duo Owl (von Karl Bjorå und Signe Emmeluth) ist benannt nach der Eule als Symbol für Weisheit.

weiterlesen

ensemble explorativ

Samstag, 25. August 2018, 20 h (Saal 1)

Konzertreihe “explorations”

Simon Jakob Drees – Violine, Stimme | Frank Fiedler – Perkussion | Thomas Gerwin – Schlagwerk, Objekte, Elektronik | Tayfun Guttstadt – Ney | Klaus Holsten – Flöten | Bettina Mainz – Tanz | Alexander Piper – Klangmaterialien, Klavier | Linda Scheckel – Visuelles | Janine Schneider – Tanz | Matthias Schwabe – Flöte, Viola, Klangmaterialien | Aida Shahidi – Klangmaterialien, Stimme | Rainer Stolz – Sprache, Stimmeweiterlesen