exploratorium_2022-1

Download des aktuellen Programms

2022Do16Jun20:000:00Empfehlungimp[or]trait #6: echtzeitmusik and its international connectivityGuests: Burkhard Beins, Angharad Davies, Yan Jun, Mariá Portugal | Moderation: Mathias Maschat20:00 - 0:00 exploratorium berlin, Studio 1, entrance CDenkraum:imp[or]trait

Zeit/Time

Donnerstag, 16. 06. 2022 | 20:00 - Donnerstag, 16. 06. 2022 | 0:00

Ort/Location

exploratorium berlin, Studio 1, entrance C

Inhalt/Content

Talk in English

Guests: Burkhard Beins, Angharad Davies, Yan Jun, Mariá Portugal
Moderation: Mathias Maschat

echtzeitmusik and its international connectivity is the third part of a four part series of talks around the topic of Echtzeitmusik. The series started with an exchange between Burkhard Beins, Andrea Neumann and Ignaz Schick on 30 years of Echtzeitmusik. Each of the three is invited one more time to focus on a specific aspect within this context. After the discussion of echtzeitmusik – “Generations”, conceived by Ignaz Schick, the topic for this third talk has been suggested by Burkhard Beins. He has chosen as Mathias Maschat’s guests for this round: violin player Angharad Davies from London (GB), performer Yan Jun from Beijing (CN) and percussionist Mariá Portugal from São Paulo, now living in Cologne (BR/DE).

The Berlin Echtzeitmusik scene in itself is an ever evolving network of international artists with a wide range of cooperations due to the specific history and proximity of the city. But how do cooperations work on an international level? What relations exist between Berlin and other international scenes?  Which relevance does an international exchange have for artistic developments? Which importance lies in these intercultural encounters? And what’s the impact of current disruptions and threats such as the pandemic, war and environmental concerns on the possibilities for artists to actually travel, meet and collaborate in person.

Already in its early days, from around 1995 to 2005, Berlin’s Echtzeitmusik scene was connected to likeminded musicians in London, Vienna, Tokyo and Sydney. With their growing recognition, more and more Echtzeit musicians began to appear on international festivals and received invitations for art residences all over the world. New connections between Berlin and a wider range of international music scenes have been established this way.

Exemplary for many protagonists of the experimental music world the four invited guests share their individual views on those developments and report from their respective cultural backgrounds and experience.

In addition to the talk, the musicians are performing on the next day, June 17th, in the concert series biegungen im ausland. Ni Vu Ni Connu is recording the concerts; also the label has to be credited for bringing Yan Jun to Europe.

As part four, happening on December 8th, Andrea Neumann has invited Neo Hülcker, Johannes Kreidler and Christian Kesten to talk about echtzeitmusik – Material und Motivation.

Unfortunately, Cedrik Fermont, who was originally planned for the talk, had to cancel his participation. Yan Jun takes his place.

In cooperation with: biegungen im ausland + Ni Vu Ni Connu

Entrance fee: 5 €

The first two talks can be watched here:
imp[or]trait #2: 1990/2020 – echtzeitmusik (Mit Burkhard Beins, Andrea Neumann & Ignaz Schick)
imp[or]trait #4: echtzeitmusik – “Generations” (With Alexander Markvart, Rieko Okuda, Ignaz Schick and Alexander von Schlippenbach)

 

Recording: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Er72pyyxVBQ

© AD: Richard Morris Pushinsky, BB: Ingo Scheffler, MP: Kristina Zalesskaya, YJ: Gao Xiaotao

Details

       

RESERVIERUNG

RESERVATION

    Reserved tickets remain reserved until 7.45 pm and, if not collected from the box office by then, go on sale afterwards.

    I consent to this website storing my submitted information so that my ticket reservation can be processed.*
    Yes

    (*Required)

    ANMELDUNG

    REGISTRATION

      Reserved tickets remain reserved until 7.45 pm and, if not collected from the box office by then, go on sale afterwards.

      I consent to this website storing my submitted information so that my ticket reservation can be processed.*
      Yes

      (*Required)

[responsive_menu_pro]

exploratorium_2022-1

Download des aktuellen Programms

2022Do16Jun20:00Empfehlungimp[or]trait #6: echtzeitmusik and its international connectivityZu Gast: Burkhard Beins, Angharad Davies, Yan Jun, Mariá Portugal | Moderation: Mathias Maschat20:00 exploratorium berlin, Saal 1, Aufgang CDenkraum:imp[or]trait

Zeit/Time

Donnerstag, 16. 06. 2022 | 20:00

Ort/Location

exploratorium berlin, Saal 1, Aufgang C

Inhalt/Content

Gespräch auf Englisch

Zu Gast: Burkhard Beins, Angharad Davies, Yan Jun, Mariá Portugal
Moderation: Mathias Maschat

echtzeitmusik and its international connectivity ist der dritte Teil einer vierteiligen Gesprächsreihe rund um das Thema Echtzeitmusik. Die Reihe startete mit einem Austausch zwischen Burkhard Beins, Andrea Neumann und Ignaz Schick über 30 Jahre Echtzeitmusik. Jeder der drei ist ein weiteres Mal eingeladen, einen bestimmten Aspekt herauszugreifen und mit Gästen zu besprechen. Nach einem Gespräch zu echtzeitmusik – “Generations”, konzipiert von Ignaz Schick, wurde das Thema für diesen dritten Vortrag von Burkhard Beins vorgeschlagen. Als Gäste von Mathias Maschat hat er für diese Runde die Violinistin Angharad Davies aus London (GB), den Performer Yan Jun aus Peking (CN) und die Perkussionistin Mariá Portugal aus São Paulo, die jetzt in Köln lebt (BR/DE), ausgewählt.

Die Berliner Echtzeitmusik-Szene kann man sich als ein sich ständig weiterentwickelndes Netzwerk internationaler Künstler*innen vorstellen, die in unterschiedlichsten Konstellationen miteinander kooperieren, begünstigt durch die spezifische Geschichte der Stadt und die räumliche Nähe. Doch wie funktionieren Kooperationen auf internationaler Ebene? Welche Beziehungen bestehen zwischen Berlin und anderen internationalen Szenen? Welche Relevanz hat ein internationaler Austausch für künstlerische Entwicklungen? Welche Bedeutung kommt diesen interkulturellen Begegnungen zu? Und wie wirken sich aktuelle Umbrüche und Bedrohungen wie Pandemie, Krieg und Umweltprobleme auf die Möglichkeiten für Künstler*innen aus, zu reisen, sich zu treffen und persönlich zusammenzuarbeiten?

Bereits in ihren Anfängen, etwa von 1995 bis 2005, war die Berliner Echtzeitmusik-Szene mit gleichgesinnten Musiker*innen in London, Wien, Tokio und Sydney vernetzt. Mit ihrer wachsenden Anerkennung begannen immer mehr Echtzeit-Musiker*innen auf internationalen Festivals aufzutreten und erhielten Einladungen zu Kunstresidenzen auf der ganzen Welt. Auf diese Weise wurden neue Verbindungen zwischen Berlin und anderen internationalen Musikszenen hergestellt.

Exemplarisch für viele Protagonist*innen der experimentellen Musikwelt teilen die vier geladenen Gäste ihre individuellen Ansichten zu diesen Entwicklungen und berichten von ihren jeweiligen kulturellen Hintergründen und Erfahrungen.

Zusätzlich zu dem Gespräch treten die Musiker*innen am folgenden Tag (17. Juni), in der Konzertreihe biegungen im ausland auf. Ni Vu Ni Connu nimmt die Konzerte auf; dem Label ist es außerdem zu verdanken, dass es Yan Jun nach Europa gebracht hat.

Für den vierten Teil, der am 8. Dezember stattfindet, hat Andrea Neumann Neo Hülcker, Johannes Kreidler und Christian Kesten eingeladen, um über echtzeitmusik – Material und Motivation zu sprechen.

Der zunächst für das Gespräch vorgesehene Cedrik Fermont musste seine Teilnahme leider absagen. An seine Stelle tritt Yan Jun.

In Zusammenarbeit mit: biegungen im ausland + Ni Vu Ni Connu

Eintritt: 5 €

Die ersten beiden Gespräche sind hier auf der YouTube-Seite des exploratorium zu finden:
imp[or]trait #2: 1990/2020 – echtzeitmusik (Mit Burkhard Beins, Andrea Neumann & Ignaz Schick)
imp[or]trait #4: echtzeitmusik – “Generations” (With Alexander Markvart, Rieko Okuda, Ignaz Schick and Alexander von Schlippenbach)

 

Aufnahme: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Er72pyyxVBQ

© AD: Richard Morris Pushinsky, BB: Ingo Scheffler, MP: Kristina Zalesskaya, YJ: Gao Xiaotao

Details

       
X