exploratorium_2021-2

Download des aktuellen Programms

2020Do03Sept20:00Empfehlungkey_concepts #2: John Stevens – From the Spontaneous Music Ensemble to Search & ReflectGuest: Richard Scott, Moderation: Mathias Maschat20:00 exploratorium berlin, Studio 1, entrance CDenkraum:key_concepts

Zeit/Time

Donnerstag, 03. 09. 2020 | 20:00

Ort/Location

exploratorium berlin, Studio 1, entrance C

Inhalt/Content

Talk in English

Guest: Richard Scott
Moderation: Mathias Maschat

In the second edition of the new Denkraum series key_concepts, Mathias Maschat talks to synthesizer player Richard Scott about his experience in the legendary workshops of the London drummer and pioneer of free improvisation John Stevens.

John Stevens (1940–1994) met Paul Rutherford and Trevor Watts in the mid-1960s and together they founded the Spontaneous Music Ensemble in 1965, which was to become one of the nucleuses of British free jazz and European free improvisation. Especially in the late 1960s, the SME, like the evening concerts he organized at the Little Theater Club in the City of Westminster (London), became a point of reference for the young generation of British jazz musicians – from Evan Parker to Derek Bailey, Paul Rutherford, Howard Riley, Maggie Nicols, Julie Tippetts to Barry Guy and James Muir.

Stevens developed a series of participatory pieces that enabled people with very different musical backgrounds and abilities to engage equally in creative improvisation. The pieces were published under the title Search & Reflect, creating a valuable manual for mediating and teaching improvisation. He tried out and used the pieces in countless workshops, which enabled him to train and significantly influence many musicians.

One of them is the composer and interpreter of electronic and improvised music Richard Scott, who attended Stevens’ workshops in the 1980s. He has been pursuing the idea of ​​publicly reporting on his time with John Stevens for some time, which will now be the first occasion. Music-historical thoughts are supplemented with general considerations for teaching improvised music.

Entrance fee: 5 Euro

Recording: https://youtu.be/-led60PN-5Y

© Temi Hollist, Jo Mazelis (below ri)

Details

       

BUCHUNG

BOOKING

    Since organizers are currently obliged to keep lists of their visitors, address and telephone number must be provided with the registration. This data will be kept for four weeks in order to be able to trace chains of infection if necessary and to inform those affected. After four weeks this data will be deleted.**

    I consent to this website storing my submitted information so that my ticket reservation can be processed.*
    Yes

    (*Required, **Required data for Corona contact list).

    ANMELDUNG

    REGISTRATION

      Since organizers are currently obliged to keep lists of their visitors, address and telephone number must be provided with the registration. This data will be kept for four weeks in order to be able to trace chains of infection if necessary and to inform those affected. After four weeks this data will be deleted.**

      I consent to this website storing my submitted information so that my ticket reservation can be processed.*
      Yes

      (*Required, **Required data for Corona contact list).

      X

exploratorium_2020-2

Download des aktuellen Programms

2020Do03Sept20:00Empfehlungkey_concepts #2: John Stevens – From the Spontaneous Music Ensemble to Search & ReflectZu Gast: Richard Scott, Moderation: Mathias Maschat20:00 exploratorium berlin, Saal 1, Aufgang CDenkraum:key_concepts

Zeit / Time

Donnerstag, 03. 09. 2020 | 20:00

Ort / Location

exploratorium berlin, Saal 1, Aufgang C

Infos

Gespräch auf Englisch

Zu Gast: Richard Scott
Moderation: Mathias Maschat

In der zweiten Ausgabe der neuen Denkraum-Reihe key_concepts spricht Mathias Maschat mit dem Synthesizer-Spieler Richard Scott über dessen Erfahrungen in den legendären Workshops des Londoner Schlagzeugers und Wegbereiters der freien Improvisation John Stevens.

John Stevens (1940–1994) lernte Mitte der 1960er-Jahre Paul Rutherford und Trevor Watts kennen. Mit ihnen gemeinsam gründete er 1965 das Spontaneous Music Ensemble, das eine Keimzelle des britischen Free Jazz bzw. der europäischen freien Improvisation werden sollte. Das SME wurde insbesondere in den späten 1960er Jahren ebenso wie die von ihm organisierten Abendkonzerte im Little Theater Club in der City of Westminster (London) zum Bezugspunkt der jungen Generation britischer Jazzmusiker – von Evan Parker über Derek Bailey, Paul Rutherford, Howard Riley, Maggie Nicols, Julie Tippetts bis hin zu Barry Guy und James Muir.

Stevens entwickelte eine Reihe partizipativer Stücke, die es Menschen mit sehr unterschiedlichen musikalischen Hintergründen und Fähigkeiten ermöglichten, sich gleichermaßen auf kreative Improvisation einzulassen. Die Stücke wurden unter dem Titel Search & Reflect veröffentlicht, wodurch ein wertvolles Manual für die Vermittlung und Lehre von Improvisation entstand. Die Stücke erprobte und verwendete er in unzähligen Workshops, wodurch er viele MusikerInnen fortbildete und wesentlich prägte.

Einer davon ist der Komponist und Interpret elektronischer und improvisierter Musik Richard Scott, der Stevens‘ Workshops in den 1980er-Jahren besuchte. Schon seit Längerem verfolgt er die Idee, von seiner Zeit mit John Stevens öffentlich zu berichten, wozu es nun erstmalig kommen wird. Musikhistorische Einordnungen werden ergänzt mit generellen Überlegungen zur Vermittlung improvisierter Musik.

 

Eintritt: 5 Euro

Fotorechte: Temi Hollist, Jo Mazelis (unten re)

Details

       

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter

Immer aktuell!

Der Newsletter des exploratorium berlin


Wir versenden ca. einmal pro Woche Informationen zu unserem Programm und freuen uns über Ihr Interesse! Bitte öffnen Sie nach Ihrer Anmeldung Ihr E-Mail-Postfach und bestätigen Sie Ihr Interesse über Ihren persönlichen Anmelde-Link.

Leider erscheint der Newsletter nur in deutscher Sprache.

Ich stimme den Datenschutzbestimmungen zu


Bitte die jeweilige URL kopieren (meist reicht das Anklicken des Links!) und dann Ihrem eigenen Kalender hinzufügen.
Anleitungen dazu finden Sie hier: per iCalGoogle-Kalender und Outlook.

1. URL für den Kalender Bühne im exploratorium berlin

2. URL für den Kalender Lernraum im exploratorium berlin

3. URL für den Kalender Spielraum im exploratorium berlin

4. URL für den Kalender Denkraum im exploratorium berlin

5. URL für den Kalender Junges explo im exploratorium berlin

X