exploratorium_2021-1

Download des aktuellen Programms

2021Do22Apr20:00Empfehlungkey_concepts #5: Materiality / Resonance – The FAAB (Feedback-Actuated Augmented Bass)Guest: Adam Pultz Melbye | Moderation: Mathias Maschat20:00 exploratorium berlin, Studio 1, entrance CDenkraum:key_concepts

Zeit/Time

Donnerstag, 22. 04. 2021 | 20:00

Ort/Location

exploratorium berlin, Studio 1, entrance C

Inhalt/Content

Talk in English

Guest: Adam Pultz Melbye
Moderation: Mathias Maschat

Livestream: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCuoMNoRHJPiFqdAysZeEF0Q/featured

In the fifth edition of the Denkraum series key_concepts, Mathias Maschat talks to Adam Pultz Melbye, who is a Berlin-based improvisor, double bass player, programmer, instrument designer and PhD-researcher at Sonic Arts Research Centre at Queen’s University in Belfast, Northern Ireland. Also, Adam Pultz Melbye presents his newly developed instrument (together with instrument builder Halldór Úlfarsson), the FAAB (Feedback-Actuated Augmented Bass).

Since 2007, Adam Pultz Melbye has recorded and toured extensively, as a soloist, as well as with musicians/groups such as Julia Reidy, Evan Parker, Lotte Anker, Pat Thomas, Flamingo and Ingrid Schmoliner. Driven by a fundamental fascination with double bass resonance, for the past two years, he has focused his work on the FAAB (Feedback-Actuated Augmented Bass) – a hybrid feedback double bass equipped with pickups, a built-in speaker cone and signal processing algorithms. The FAAB is a highly resonant, sonically ambiguous and sometimes volatile instrument and while enabling sounds and playing practices impossible on the acoustic double bass, the instrument also resists traditional notions of mastery and control. As such, improvisation is a central feature of the development of a language and performance practice with the instrument and has led Adam Pultz Melbye to speculate that resistance and precariousness are in fact fundamental requirements for the enactment of improvisation.

The conversation focuses on solo improvisation and how it plays out with an instrument, the materiality of which intersects, and is constituted by, both virtual and physical domains. Here, resonance may mean both the acoustic phenomenon of physical bodies vibrating sympathetically with themselves as well and each other, but also points towards multiple feedback loops of information that travel across wood, strings, silicon, computer code and human perception and cognition.

http://www.adampultz.com/augmenting-the-double-bass/
The FAAB – Nime20020 performance: https://vimeo.com/446291856

 

Entrance fee: 5 €

 

Please note that the elevator of the exploratorium berlin will be out of service until at least March 31, 2021!

© Photomusix C. Marx

Details

       

BUCHUNG

BOOKING

    I consent to this website storing my submitted information so that my registration can be processed.*
    Yes

    (*Required, **Required data for Corona contact list Link).

    ANMELDUNG

    REGISTRATION

      I consent to this website storing my submitted information so that my registration can be processed.*
      Yes

      (*Required, **Required data for Corona contact list Link).

      X

exploratorium_2021-1

Download des aktuellen Programms

2021Do22Apr20:00Empfehlungkey_concepts #5: Materiality / Resonance – The FAAB (Feedback-Actuated Augmented Bass)Zu Gast: Adam Putz Melbye | Moderation: Mathias Maschat20:00 exploratorium berlin, Saal 1, Aufgang CDenkraum:key_concepts

Zeit/Time

Donnerstag, 22. 04. 2021 | 20:00

Ort/Location

exploratorium berlin, Saal 1, Aufgang C

Inhalt/Content

Gespräch auf  Englisch

Zu Gast: Adam Pultz Melbye
Moderation: Mathias Maschat

In der fünften Ausgabe der Denkraum-Reihe key_concepts spricht Mathias Maschat mit Adam Pultz Melbye, einem in Berlin ansässigen Improvisator, Kontrabassisten, Programmierer, Instrumentendesigner und Doktoranden am Sonic Arts Research Center der Queenʼs University in Belfast, Nordirland. Außerdem präsentiert Adam Pultz Melbye sein zusammen mit dem Instrumentenbauer Halldór Úlfarsson neu entwickeltes Instrument, den FAAB (Feedback-Actuated Augmented Bass).

Seit 2007 hat Adam Pultz Melbye als Solist sowie mit Musiker*innen bzw. Gruppen wie Julia Reidy, Evan Parker, Lotte Anker, Pat Thomas, Flamingo und Ingrid Schmoliner aufgenommen und Konzerte gespielt. Angetrieben von einer fundamentalen Faszination für Kontrabassresonanz hat er sich in den letzten zwei Jahren auf den FAAB (Feedback-Actuated Augmented Bass) konzentriert – einen hybriden Feedback-Kontrabass mit Tonabnehmern, integriertem Lautsprecherkegel und Signalverarbeitungs-Algorithmen. Der FAAB ist ein hochresonantes, klanglich mehrdeutiges und manchmal unberechenbares Instrument. Es ermöglicht zwar Klänge und Spielpraktiken, die auf dem akustischen Kontrabass nicht möglich sind, widersteht aber auch den traditionellen Vorstellungen von Meisterschaft und Kontrolle. Insofern ist die Improvisation ein zentrales Merkmal der Entwicklung einer Sprach- und Aufführungspraxis mit dem Instrument, was Adam Pultz Melbye zu der Annahme veranlasst, dass Widerstand und Unsicherheit tatsächlich grundlegende Voraussetzungen für Improvisation sind.

Das Gespräch konzentriert sich auf die Solo-Improvisation und darauf, wie sie mit einem Instrument ausgeführt wird, dessen Materialität sowohl virtuelle als auch physische Domänen kreuzt und aus diesen besteht. Resonanz kann hier sowohl das akustische Phänomen von physischen Körpern bedeuten, die sympathisch mit sich selbst als auch miteinander schwingen, weist aber auch auf mehrere Rückkopplungsschleifen von Informationen hin, die sich über Holz, Saiten, Silizium, Computercode sowie die menschliche Wahrnehmung und Kognition bewegen.

http://www.adampultz.com/augmenting-the-double-bass/
The FAAB – Nime20020 performance: https://vimeo.com/446291856

 

Eintritt: 5 €

 

Bitte beachten Sie, dass der Aufzug des exploratorium berlin bis mindestens 31. März 2021 außer Betrieb ist!

© Photomusix C. Marx

Details

       

BUCHUNG

BOOKING

    Ich willige ein, dass diese Webseite meine übermittelten Informationen speichert, sodass meine Anmeldung bearbeitet werden kann.*
    ja

    (*Pflichtfeld, **erforderliche Daten für Corona-Kontaktpersonenliste Link).

    ANMELDUNG

    REGISTRATION

      Ich willige ein, dass diese Webseite meine übermittelten Informationen speichert, sodass meine Anmeldung bearbeitet werden kann.*
      ja

      (*Pflichtfeld, **erforderliche Daten für Corona-Kontaktpersonenliste Link).

      Anschrift

      exploratorium berlin
      Mehringdamm 55 (Sarotti-Höfe)
      10961 Berlin (Kreuzberg)

       

      Aufgang C: Saal 1 und Büro
      Aufgang D: Saal 2 und Bibliothek

       

      U-Mehringdamm (U6, U7)

      Kontakt

      030 – 84 72 10 52
      E-Mail an exploratorium berlin

      Bürozeiten

      Mo + Di 10.00–14.00
      Mi 14.00–18.00
      Do + Fr 10.00–14.00

      X