exploratorium_2021-1

Download des aktuellen Programms

2021Do25März20:00Empfehlungleeways #1: Bob Ostertag – “Facebooking the Anthropocene in Raja Ampat”Guest: Bob Ostertag | Moderation: Mathias Maschat20:00 Livestram on YoutubeDenkraum:leeways

Zeit/Time

Donnerstag, 25. 03. 2021 | 20:00

Ort/Location

Livestram on Youtube

Inhalt/Content

Talk in English
20.00 MEZ (UTC +01)

leeways #1: Bob Ostertag – “Facebooking the Anthropocene in Raja Ampat”

Guest: Bob Ostertag
Moderation: Mathias Maschat

Synthesizer pioneer and author, journalist, instrument inventor and performer Bob Ostertag is the first guest in a new series of talks, called leeways, in the Denkraum Improvisation of the exploratorium berlin. Mathias Maschat speaks to him in a live stream about his work as a musician and author and in particular about his new book Facebooking the Anthropocene in Raja Ampat: Technics and Civilization in the 21st Century. The socio-political references of Bob Ostertag’s work are discussed as well as questions about what constitutes live music and what meanings improvisation can take today.

Bob Ostertag began his musical career in 1978, touring Europe with jazz great Anthony Braxton, playing a keyboard-less modular analog synthesizer. He was not the first person to take a modular synthesizer on stage, but he was the first person to center his musical practice in a scene of “free improvisers” using a modular synthesizer as his main instrument. In 1979 he settled in New York City and became a key part of the late 1970s “downtown” scene along with John Zorn and Eugene Chadbourne. He left music for most of the 1980s and immersed himself in the Central American revolutionary movements of the time. His goodbye to the Salvadoran revolution, a composition titled Sooner or Later is considered a classic of electronic music. He has performed at music, film, and multimedia festivals around the globe. His radically diverse musical collaborators include the Kronos Quartet, John Zorn, Mike Patton, transgender cabaret icon Justin Vivian Bond, British guitar innovator Fred Frith, EDM DJ Rrose, improvisers Phil Minton, Jon Rose, Mark Dresser, Joey Baron, Gerry Hemingway, Shelley Hirsch, Roscoe Mitchell, Audrey Chen and many others.

All in all, Bob Ostertag has published more than twenty albums of music, seven books, and a feature film. His writings on contemporary politics have been published on every continent and in many languages. His books cover a wide range of topics, from labor unions to the history of journalism to estrogen and testosterone.

His new book Facebooking the Anthropocene in Raja Ampat: Technics and Civilization in the 21st Century consists of three essays that paint a deeply intimate portrait of the cataclysmic shifts between humans, technology, and the so-called natural world. Amid the breakneck pace of both technological advance and environmental collapse, Bob Ostertag explores how we are changing as fast as the world around us, by fusing his travels as a touring musician with his journalist’s eye for detail and the long view of a historian.

Bob Ostertag
http://bobostertag.com/
https://bobostertag.bandcamp.com/

Facebooking the Anthropocene in Raja Ampat: Technics and Civilization in the 21st Century
European distribution: https://pmpress.org.uk/product/facebooking-the-anthropocene/
US distribution: https://www.pmpress.org/index.php?l=product_detail&p=1142

Recording: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Le6GYzOhg0M

PM Press, Ariele Monti/ Area Sismica

Details

       

Subscribe to our newsletter

Always up to date!

The newsletter of exploratorium berlin


Our newsletter is sent out about once a week. At the moment we can unfortunately offer our newsletter only in German language. If you would still like to subscribe, please enter your e-mail address below. After that please open your e-mail account and verify your interest by clicking the subscription link.

I hereby accept the data protection rules


X

exploratorium_2021-2

Download des aktuellen Programms

2021Do25März20:00Empfehlungleeways #1: Bob Ostertag – “Facebooking the Anthropocene in Raja Ampat”Zu Gast: Bob Ostertag | Moderation: Mathias Maschat20:00 Livestream auf YouTubeDenkraum:leeways

Bob Ostertag

Zeit/Time

Donnerstag, 25. 03. 2021 | 20:00

Ort/Location

Livestream auf YouTube

Inhalt/Content

Gespräch auf Englisch
20.00 MEZ (UTC +01)

leeways #1: Bob Ostertag – “Facebooking the Anthropocene in Raja Ampat”

Zu Gast: Bob Ostertag
Moderation: Mathias Maschat

Der Synthesizer-Pionier und Autor, Journalist, Instrumentenerfinder und Performer Bob Ostertag ist der erste Gast der neuen Gesprächsreihe leeways des Denkraum Improvisation. Mit ihm spricht Mathias Maschat im Livestream über seine Arbeit als Musiker und Autor sowie insbesondere über sein neues Buch Facebooking the Anthropocene in Raja Ampat: Technics and Civilization in the 21st Century. Die gesellschaftspolitischen Bezüge von Bob Ostertags Arbeit werden dabei ebenso diskutiert wie Fragen danach, was Live-Musik ausmacht und welche Bedeutungen Improvisation heute annehmen kann.

Bob Ostertag begann seine musikalische Karriere 1978, als er mit der Jazz-Koryphäe Anthony Braxton durch Europa tourte und dabei einen modularen analogen Synthesizer ohne Tastatur spielte. Er war nicht der erste, der einen modularen Synthesizer auf die Bühne brachte, aber er war der erste, der einen modularen Synthesizer als Hauptinstrument innerhalb der freien Improvisation verwendete. 1979 ließ er sich in New York nieder und wurde dort zusammen mit John Zorn und Eugene Chadbourne ein wichtiger Protagonist der „Downtown“-Szene der späten 1970er Jahre. In den 1980er Jahren kehrte er der Musik den Rücken und arbeitete stattdessen als Journalist in den revolutionären Bewegungen Mittelamerikas. Seine künstlerische Auseinandersetzung mit der salvadorianischen Revolution, eine Komposition mit dem Titel Sooner or Later, gilt als Klassiker der elektronischen Musik. Er hat auf Musik-, Film- und Multimedia-Festivals rund um den Globus gespielt. Zu seinen äußerst unterschiedlichen musikalischen Partner*innen zählen das Kronos Quartet, John Zorn, Mike Patton, die Transgender-Kabarett-Ikone Justin Vivian Bond, der britische Gitarren-Innovator Fred Frith, EDM-DJ Rrose, die Improvisator*innen Phil Minton, Jon Rose, Mark Dresser, Joey Baron, Gerry Hemingway, Shelley Hirsch, Roscoe Mitchell, Audrey Chen und viele andere.

Insgesamt hat Bob Ostertag mehr als zwanzig Musikalben, sieben Bücher und einen Spielfilm veröffentlicht. Seine Schriften zu zeitgenössischer Politik wurden auf allen Kontinenten und in vielen Sprachen veröffentlicht. Sie decken eine breite Palette von Themen ab, von Gewerkschaften über die Geschichte des Journalismus bis hin zu Geschlechtshormonen.

Sein neues Buch Facebooking the Anthropocene in Raja Ampat: Technics and Civilization in the 21st Century besteht aus drei Essays, die ein zutiefst engagiertes Porträt der katastrophalen Veränderungen zwischen Mensch, Technologie und der sogenannten natürlichen Welt zeichnen. Inmitten des rasanten Tempos von technologischem Fortschritts und Zerstörung unserer Umwelt untersucht Bob Ostertag, wie wir uns so schnell verändern wie die Welt um uns herum. Er vereint hierzu seine Erfahrungen als weltweit tourender Musiker mit seinem journalistischen Sinn für Details und dem Überblick eines Historikers.

Bob Ostertag
http://bobostertag.com/
https://bobostertag.bandcamp.com/

Facebooking the Anthropocene in Raja Ampat: Technics and Civilization in the 21st Century
Distribution Europa: https://pmpress.org.uk/product/facebooking-the-anthropocene/
Distribution USA: https://www.pmpress.org/index.php?l=product_detail&p=1142

Aufzeichnung: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Le6GYzOhg0M

© PM Press, Ariele Monti/ Area Sismica

Details

       

Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter

Wir versenden ca. einmal pro Woche Informationen zu unserem Programm und freuen uns über Ihr Interesse!
Der Newsletter erscheint in deutscher Sprache.

Ich stimme den Datenschutzinformation zu


X