exploratorium_2022-1

Download des aktuellen Programms

2023Fr27Jan20:00Sound & Lecture N° 20: "(Musical) Ethics Lab Satellite 1"20:00 exploratorium berlin, Studio 1, entrance CBühne:Sound & LectureDenkraum:sound & lecture

Zeit/Time

Freitag, 27. 01. 2023 | 20:00

Ort/Location

exploratorium berlin, Studio 1, entrance C

Inhalt/Content

Reservation

Concert + talk in German

Christopher A. Williams (US/AT) – concept, direction, double bass
Carl Ludwig Hübsch (DE) – tuba
Christoph Irmer (DE) – violin
Magda Mayas (DE) – piano
Nina Polaschegg
(AT) – double bass
Wolfgang Schliemann (DE) – percussion
Moderation: Mathias Maschat

In the context of free improvisation, the question of its ethical and thus also its political dimension goes back to its early phase in the 1960s. Their relevance is unbroken to this day and perhaps more relevant than ever: reason enough to raise and discuss them as the topic of the last symposium in the old rooms of the exploratorium.

As the opening of the Symposium / Open Space: Improvisation and Ethics, the double bass player, composer and artistic researcher Christopher Williams is a guest, who, together with the anthropologist Caroline Gatt and the philosopher Joshua Bergamin, is responsible for the research project (Musical) Improvisation and Ethics. Together with Carl Ludwig Hübsch (tuba), Christoph Irmer (violin), Magda Mayas (piano), Nina Polaschegg (double bass) and Wolfgang Schliemann (percussion), he will in the course of a workshop concert raise and discuss questions  about the connections between ethics and improvisation. (Musical) Ethics Lab Satellite 1 is the title of this 20th edition of the exploratorium’s Sound & Lecture series, which combines music and discussion. At the same time, the event belongs to a series of public presentations that are part of the research process of the Graz project and at the same time document its progress.

The basis for the concert are exercises and interactive situations developed by Christopher Williams, which serve to work out the ethical aspects contained in improvisational practice and to make them visible. In addition, it is asked how these aspects in turn affect the musical material and the resulting structures. Another topic in the discussion moderated by Mathias Maschat is the improvisational nature of ethical behavior in general.

With Carl Ludwig Hübsch, Christoph Irmer, Magda Mayas, Nina Polaschegg and Wolfgang Schliemann, five renowned improvisers have been invited, all of whom work theoretically, journalistically or scientifically on improvisation beyond their musical practice. Not only in regard to this discursive level they are connected to the exploratorium in some ways.

Anyone who would like to delve further into the topic of ‘improvisation and ethics’ can take part in the following Symposium / Open space (January 28th and 29th, 2023). The two days will be held as an open space, in which the exact procedures and topics will be developed together in the process. Some keynote speeches offer different approaches to the topic. More information can be found here.

 

Admission: 12/10/6 €  (normal price/reduced/Berlin-Pass)

19.00 soundwalk with Thomas Gerwin

 

The concert will also be live streamed via our YouTube channel:
https://www.youtube.com/exploratoriumberlin

 

All currently valid Corona regulations in the exploratorium can be found here.

© top left: Róbert Révész, top right: Peter Gannushkin, middle left: Daniel Espinoza, bottom left: Ulla Riedel, bottom middle: Ian Stenhouse, bottom right: private

Details

       

RESERVIERUNG

RESERVATION

    Reserved tickets remain reserved until 7.45 pm and, if not collected from the box office by then, go on sale afterwards.

    I consent to this website storing my submitted information so that my ticket reservation can be processed.*
    Yes

    (*Required)


    ANMELDUNG

    REGISTRATION

      Reserved tickets remain reserved until 7.45 pm and, if not collected from the box office by then, go on sale afterwards.

      I consent to this website storing my submitted information so that my ticket reservation can be processed.*
      Yes

      (*Required)

exploratorium_2022-1

Download des aktuellen Programms

2023Fr27Jan20:00EmpfehlungSound & Lecture N° 20: "(Musical) Ethics Lab Satellite 1"Auftakt zum Symposium / Open Space: Improvisation und Ethik20:00 exploratorium berlin, Saal 1, Aufgang CBühne:Sound & LectureDenkraum:Sound & Lecture

Zeit/Time

Freitag, 27. 01. 2023 | 20:00

Ort/Location

exploratorium berlin, Saal 1, Aufgang C

Inhalt/Content

Konzert + Gespräch auf Deutsch

Christopher A. Williams (US/AT) – Konzept, Leitung, Kontrabass
Carl Ludwig Hübsch (DE) – Tuba
Christoph Irmer (DE) – Violine
Magda Mayas (DE) – Klavier
Nina Polaschegg
(AT) – Kontrabass
Wolfgang Schliemann (DE) – Perkussion
Moderation: Mathias Maschat

Die Frage nach ihrer ethischen und damit auch ihrer politischen Dimension geht im Kontext freier Improvisation bereits auf ihre frühe Phase in den 1960er-Jahren zurück. Ihre Relevanz ist bis heute ungebrochen und vielleicht aktueller denn je: Anlass genug, sie zum Thema des letzten Symposiums in den alten Räumen des exploratorium zu erheben und zu diskutieren.

Als Auftakt zu dem Symposium / Open Space: Improvisation und Ethik ist der Kontrabassist, Komponist und Künstlerische Forscher Christopher Williams zu Gast, der zusammen mit der Anthropologin Caroline Gatt und dem Philosophen Joshua Bergamin das an der Kunstuniversität Graz angesiedelte Forschungsprojekt (Musical) Improvisation and Ethics leitet. Gemeinsam mit Carl Ludwig Hübsch (Tuba), Christoph Irmer (Violine), Magda Mayas (Klavier), Nina Polaschegg (Kontrabass) und Wolfgang Schliemann (Perkussion) wird er in einem Werkstatt-Konzert auf musikalische Weise Fragen zu den Bezügen zwischen Ethik und Improvisation aufwerfen und erörtern. (Musical) Ethics Lab Satellite 1 ist der Titel dieser 20. Ausgabe der Sound & Lecture-Reihe des exploratorium, die Musik und Gespräch miteinander verbindet. Zugleich gehört die Veranstaltung in eine Reihe öffentlicher Präsentationen, die zum Forschungsprozess des Grazer Projekts beitragen und zugleich dessen Fortgang dokumentieren.

Grundlage für das Konzert sind von Christopher Williams entwickelte Übungen und interaktive Situationen, die dazu dienen, die in improvisatorischer Praxis enthaltenen ethischen Aspekte herauszuarbeiten und sichtbar zu machen. Außerdem wird gefragt, wie diese Aspekte wiederum auf das musikalische Material und die entstehenden Strukturen zurückwirken. Ein weiteres Thema in dem von Mathias Maschat moderierten Gespräch ist die improvisatorische Natur ethischen Verhaltens überhaupt.

Mit Carl Ludwig Hübsch, Christoph Irmer, Magda Mayas, Nina Polaschegg und Wolfgang Schliemann sind fünf renommierte Improvisator*innen eingeladen, die alle über ihre musikalische Praxis hinaus auch theoretisch, journalistisch oder wissenschaftlich zu Improvisation arbeiten und dem exploratorium nicht nur auf dieser diskursiven Ebene in mancherlei Hinsicht verbunden sind.

Wer das Thema ‘Improvisation und Ethik’ weiterhin vertiefen möchte, kann an dem darauf folgenden Symposium / Open Space teilnehmen (28. und 29. Januar 2023). Die zwei Tage werden als Open Space durchgeführt, in dem die genauen Abläufe und Themen gemeinsam im Prozess entwickelt werden. Einige Impulsreferate bieten verschiedene Einstiege in das Thema. Nähere Informationen finden sich hier.

 

Eintritt 12/10/6 €  (Normalpreis/ermäßigt/Berlin-Pass)

19.00 soundwalk mit Thomas Gerwin

Aufzeichnung: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mhs9hkBYVXo

© oben links: Róbert Révész, oben rechts: Peter Gannushkin, Mitte links: Daniel Espinoza, unten links: Ulla Riedel, unten Mitte: Ian Stenhouse, unten rechts: privat

Details