exploratorium_2020-2

Download des aktuellen Programms

2020Sa31Okt20:00Scratch Orchestrapostponed to 2021 due to corona pandemic20:00 exploratorium berlin, Studio 1, entrance CBühne:Improvisation International

Zeit/Time

Samstag, 31. 10. 2020 | 20:00

Ort/Location

exploratorium berlin, Studio 1, entrance C

Inhalt/Content

Scratch Orchestra
Richard Ascough (GB) – keyboard, flute, swanee whistle
Bryn Harris (GB) – percussion, toy instruments, vocal
Hugh Shrapnel (GB) – tin whistle, keyboard
Stefan Szczelkun (GB) – visual performance, objects
& workshop participants

The long-standing members of the Scratch Orchestra Richard Ascough, Bryn Harris, Hugh Shrapnel and Stefan Szczelkun come to the exploratorium for one of their rare concerts in the 51st year of the legendary British orchestra collective. They are also giving this year’s special workshop, and workshop participants are most likely expected to be integrated into the concert performance.

Formed in July 1969 by Cornelius Cardew together with Michael Parsons and Howard Skempton, the Scratch Orchestra remains the most enigmatic and controversial of the experimental musical ensembles of that era. Originally coming into existence for the performance of Paragraph ll of the Great Learning by Cornelius Cardew, the Scratch Orchestra consisted of a large number of enthusiasts pooling their resources and assembling for action, music making, performance and edification. It was growing out of a series of music composition classes held at Morley College London that were attended by avant-garde musicians as well as artists interested in exploring sound. Combining a promiscuous and often irreverent musicality with a deep seriousness of purpose and a radical approach to social organisation, the Scratch Orchestra prefigured global post-modernism while celebrating a peculiarly British sensibility. Exploding with ideas – often contradictory – and drawing equally on established figures of the avant-garde as well as rank amateurs, the Scratch Orchestra’s combination of Fluxus, John Cage, free jazz, performance art, graphic scores, ritual, research projects, serious formal composition, and pop cover versions provided the blueprint for much that has followed.

The Scratch Orchestra, whose members drew on varying levels of musical expertise, performed its music from scratch, often based on written instructions and graphic scores. The Orchestra played in town and village halls, universities, youth clubs, parks, and theaters. Due to the regularity of the performances during the Scratch Orchestra’s short lifespan (it was active until around 1974), it constituted a kind of musical community; an intense experience of playing, travelling, and living together.

Eventually the strains of Cardew’s “reverse seniority”, tensions between musically-trained and non-musically-trained members, and an increasing interest in political aesthetics led to a gradual change in the activities, and then the outlook of the ensemble. It was effectively inoperative by 1974, but continued later from time to time in new constellations. This included celebrations of 25 years of Scratch Music in 1994 and 50 years of Scratch Music in 2019.

 

Admission: 15 / 12 / 8 Euro (normal price / reduced / Berlin Pass)

 

 

Photocredits: Martin Dixon

Details

       

Subscribe to our newsletter

Always up to date!

The newsletter of exploratorium berlin


Our newsletter is sent out about once a week. At the moment we can unfortunately offer our newsletter only in German language. If you would still like to subscribe, please enter your e-mail address below. After that please open your e-mail account and verify your interest by clicking the subscription link.

I hereby accept the data protection rules


X

exploratorium_2020-2

Download des aktuellen Programms

2020Sa31Okt20:00EmpfehlungScratch Orchestra20:00 exploratorium berlin, Saal 1, Aufgang CBühne:Improvisation International

Zeit / Time

Samstag, 31. 10. 2020 | 20:00

Ort / Location

exploratorium berlin, Saal 1, Aufgang C

Infos

Scratch Orchestra
Richard Ascough
(GB) – Keyboard, Flöte, Swanee Whistle
Bryn Harris (GB) – Perkussion, Spielzeug-Instrumente, Stimme
Hugh Shrapnel (GB) – Tin Whistle, Keyboard
Stefan Szczelkun (GB) – visuelle Performance, Objekte
sowie Workshop-TeilnehmerInnen

Die langjährigen Mitglieder des Scratch Orchestra Richard Ascough, Bryn Harris, Hugh Shrapnel und Stefan Szczelkun kommen im 51. Jahr des Bestehens des legendären britischen Orchester-Kollektivs zu einem ihrer seltenen Konzerte ins exploratorium und geben auch den diesjährigen Workshop spezial.

Das Scratch Orchestra wurde im Juli 1969 von Cornelius Cardew zusammen mit Michael Parsons und Howard Skempton gegründet und ist nach wie vor das rätselhafteste und umstrittenste der experimentellen Musikensembles dieser Zeit. Das Scratch Orchestra entstand ursprünglich für die Aufführung von Paragraph II des Stücks The Great Learning von Cornelius Cardew und bestand aus einer großen Anzahl von Enthusiasten, die ihre Ressourcen bündelten und sich für Aktion, Musik, Performance und Erbauung versammelten. Es entstand aus einer Reihe von Musikkompositionskursen am Morley College London, an denen sowohl Avantgarde-MusikerInnen als auch KünstlerInnen teilnahmen, die sich für die Erforschung des Klangs interessierten. Das Scratch Orchestra kombinierte eine promiskuitive und oft respektlose Musikalität mit einer tiefen Ernsthaftigkeit des Zwecks und einer radikalen Herangehensweise an die soziale Organisation. Es prägte die globale Postmoderne und zelebrierte gleichzeitig eine besonders britische Sensibilität. Die Scratch Orchestra-Kombination aus Fluxus, John Cage, Free Jazz, Performance-Kunst, grafischen Partituren, Ritualen, Forschungsprojekten und ernsthaften formalen Themen explodiert mit Ideen – oft widersprüchlich – und stützt sich gleichermaßen auf etablierte Persönlichkeiten der Avantgarde und auf Amateure. Kompositions- und Pop-Cover-Versionen lieferten die Blaupause für vieles, was folgte.

Das Scratch Orchestra, dessen Mitglieder sich auf unterschiedliche musikalische Fachkenntnisse stützten, spielte seine Musik von Grund auf neu, häufig basierend auf schriftlichen Anweisungen und grafischen Partituren. Das Orchester spielte in Stadt- und Dorfhallen, Universitäten, Jugendclubs, Parks und Theatern. Aufgrund der Regelmäßigkeit der Aufführungen während der kurzen Lebensdauer des Scratch Orchestra (es war bis etwa 1974 aktiv) bildete es eine Art musikalische Gemeinschaft: eine intensive Erfahrung des Spielens, Reisens und Zusammenlebens.

Schließlich führten die durch Cardews unberechtigte Vorrangstellung ausgelösten Spannungen zwischen musikalisch ausgebildeten und nicht musikalisch ausgebildeten Mitgliedern und ein zunehmendes Interesse an politischer Ästhetik zu einer allmählichen Änderung der Aktivitäten und dann der Sichtweise des Ensembles. Es trat bis 1974 praktisch nicht auf, wurde aber später von Zeit zu Zeit in neuen Konstellationen fortgesetzt. Dies beinhaltete Feierlichkeiten zu 25 Jahren Scratch Music im Jahr 1994 und 50 Jahren Scratch Music im Jahr 2019.

 

Eintritt: 15 / 12 / 8 Euro (Normalpreis / ermäßigt / Berlin-Pass)

Foto: Martin Dixon

Details

       

RESERVIERUNG

Ich willige ein, dass diese Webseite meine übermittelten Informationen speichert, sodass meine Kartenreservierung bearbeitet werden kann.*
ja

(*Pflichtfeld).

Reservation

I consent to this website storing my submitted information so that my ticket reservation can be processed.*
yes

(*Required field).

ANMELDUNG

REGISTRATION

X