exploratorium_2022-1

Download des aktuellen Programms

2023Sa28Jan(Jan 28)10:00So29(Jan 29)16:00Symposium / Open Space: Improvisation und Ethik8th Symposium at the exploratorium berlin10:00 - 16:00 (29) exploratorium berlin, Studio 1, entrance CDenkraum:Symposia

Zeit/Time

Samstag, 28. 01. 2023 | 10:00 - Sonntag, 29. 01. 2023 | 16:00

Ort/Location

exploratorium berlin, Studio 1, entrance C

Inhalt/Content

Symposium / Open Space: Improvisation und Ethik
8th Symposium at the exploratorium berlin

With Joshua Bergamin, Helmut Bieler-Wendt, Tina Burova, Caroline Gatt, Christoph Irmer, Mathias Maschat, Annemarie Michel, Christopher A. Williams a. o.

Language: Mostly German

From 27th to 29th January, 2023, the exploratorium berlin will hold its 8th symposium as part of Denkraum Improvisation, which this time will have a strong open space character. The topic of the symposium / open space is the connection between improvisation and ethics.

In the context of free improvisation, the question of its ethical and thus also its political dimension goes back to its early phase in the 1960s. Since then, reference has repeatedly been made to the ethical anchoring, but also to the ethical potential of improvisation. This aspect is cited both by musicians – such as by Cornelius Cardew in his paradigmatic text Towards an Ethic of Improvisation from 1971 – and in an academic context such as by the Canadian research project Improvisation, Community, and Social Practice (ICASP), which regards “musical improvisation as a crucial model for political, cultural and ethical dialogue and action”. In the exploratorium, too, we understand the principles of improvisation as ethical, which is one of the reasons for our concern for the mediation of improvisation.

The cornerstones of improvisation include self-organization, personal responsibility, autonomy, cooperation, creative interaction, uncertainty of outcome, free design and processuality. These characteristics link improvisation with the open space method. What is decisive with open space is that there is no externally prescribed time structure and that the topics are brought up by the participants themselves and worked out together. The exchange, the discussions, the communication are central – and that one can act freely according to one’s own interests and priorities. This special form of open space is intended to form the framework for the last symposium in the old rooms of the exploratorium. At the same time, a space for encounters is created in which, with a view to ethics, one of the central questions in relation to improvisation represents the thematic focus – and in which, last but not least, the space for musical and artistic improvisation is opened up as a special characteristic of open space.

In the fundamental openness of a changing method, some shorter impulse presentations are planned, which offer different approaches to the topic: Peace and improvisation (Helmut Bieler-Wendt), improvising equality (Tina Burova), improvisation and ethics as first philosophy in Lévinas (Christoph Irmer), resonance as an ethic of improvisation (Mathias Maschat) and improvisation and the good life (Annemarie Michel). In addition, with Anatomy of a (Musical) Ethics Lab, Joshua Bergamin, Caroline Gatt and Christopher A. Williams present their research project (Musical) Improvisation and Ethics at the University of Music and Performing Arts Graz and report on their methods and the research results of the first year of the project.

Participation in the symposium / open space is open and we hereby cordially invite you to do so. The registration deadline is January 15th, 2023. Please send registrations by email to Mathias Maschat: mm@exploratorium-berlin.de

More information can be found here in the invitation (only available in German).

The Symposium / Open Space: Improvisation and Ethics, on January 27th, 2023 at 8:00 pm, kicks off as the 20th edition of the exploratorium’s Sound & Lecture series with a workshop concert and discussion entitled: (Musical) Ethics Lab Satellite 1. Christopher Williams, together with Carl Ludwig Hübsch (tuba), Christoph Irmer (violin), Magda Mayas (piano), Nina Polaschegg (double bass) and Wolfgang Schliemann (percussion), musically raises questions about the relationships between ethics and improvisation and discusses them, moderated by Mathias Maschat, with the participating musicians and the audience.

Times
01/27/2023, 8:00 pm: Opening concert
01/28/2023, 10:00 am: Start – Open End
01/29/2023, 10:30 am – 3:30 pm

© © 1st row: private; 2nd row from left to right: Daniel Espinoza, exploratorium berlin, Skoworonek FotoKonzept; 3rd row: Ulla Riedel, exploratorium berlin, Aitor Arruti

Details

       

RESERVIERUNG

RESERVATION


    I consent to this website storing my submitted information so that my registration can be processed.*
    Yes

    (*Required)

    ANMELDUNG

    REGISTRATION


      I consent to this website storing my submitted information so that my registration can be processed.*
      Yes

      (*Required)

exploratorium_2022-1

Download des aktuellen Programms

2023Sa28Jan(Jan 28)10:00So29(Jan 29)15:30EmpfehlungSymposium / Open Space: Improvisation und Ethik8. Symposium am exploratorium berlin10:00 - 15:30 (29) exploratorium berlin, Saal 1, Aufgang CDenkraum:Symposien

Zeit/Time

Samstag, 28. 01. 2023 | 10:00 - Sonntag, 29. 01. 2023 | 15:30

Ort/Location

exploratorium berlin, Saal 1, Aufgang C

Inhalt/Content

Symposium / Open Space: Improvisation und Ethik
8. Symposium am exploratorium berlin

Mit Joshua Bergamin, Helmut Bieler-Wendt, Tina Burova, Caroline Gatt, Christoph Irmer, Mathias Maschat, Annemarie Michel, Christopher A. Williams u. a.

Vom 27.–29. Januar 2023 veranstaltet das exploratorium berlin im Rahmen des Denkraum Improvisation sein 8. Symposium, das dieses Mal einen starken Open Space-Charakter trägt. Das Thema des Symposium / Open Space ist der Zusammenhang von Improvisation und Ethik.

Die Frage nach ihrer ethischen und damit auch ihrer politischen Dimension geht im Kontext freier Improvisation bereits auf ihre frühe Phase in den 1960er-Jahren zurück. Seither wird immer wieder auf die ethische Verankerung, aber auch auf das ethische Potential von Improvisation verwiesen. Sowohl von Musikerinnen und Musikern wird dieser Aspekt angeführt – wie beispielsweise von Cornelius Cardew in seinem paradigmatischen Text Towards an Ethic of Improvisation von 1971 –, als auch im akademischen Kontext wie etwa von dem kanadischen Forschungsprojekt Improvisation, Community, and Social Practice (ICASP), welches „musikalische Improvisation als entscheidendes Modell für politische, kulturelle und ethische Kommunikation und Aktion“ erachtet. Auch im exploratorium begreifen wir die Prinzipien von Improvisation als ethisch, was einer der Gründe für unser Anliegen der Improvisationsvermittlung ist.

Zu den Grundpfeilern von Improvisation gehören Selbstorganisation, Eigenverantwortung, Autonomie, Kooperation, kreative Interaktion, Ergebnisoffenheit, freie Gestaltung und Prozessualität. Das verbindet Improvisation mit der Open Space-Methode. Entscheidend beim Open Space ist, dass es keine von außen vorgegebene zeitliche Struktur gibt und auch die Themen von Teilnehmenden selbst eingebracht und gemeinsam ausgearbeitet werden. Zentral sind der Austausch, die Gespräche, die Kommunikation, – und dass frei nach den eigenen Interessen und Schwerpunkten agiert werden kann. Diese besondere Form des Open Space soll den Rahmen für das letzte Symposium in den alten Räumen des exploratorium bilden. Zugleich wird damit ein Raum der Begegnung geschaffen, in dem mit Blick auf Ethik eine der zentralen Fragen in Bezug auf Improvisation den thematischen Fokus darstellt, – und in dem nicht zuletzt der Raum für auch musikalisches bzw. künstlerisches Improvisieren als eine besondere Ausprägung des Open Space eröffnet wird.

In der grundsätzlichen Offenheit einer sich verändernden Methode sind einige kürzere Impulsreferate vorgesehen, die verschiedene Einstiege in das Thema bieten: Frieden und Improvisation (Helmut Bieler-Wendt), Improvising Equality (Tina Burova), Improvisation und die Ethik als Erste Philosophie bei Lévinas (Christoph Irmer), Resonanz als Ethik von Improvisation (Mathias Maschat) sowie Improvisation und das gute Leben (Annemarie Michel). Außerdem stellen Joshua Bergamin, Caroline Gatt und Christopher A. Williams mit Anatomy of a (Musical) Ethics Lab ihr Forschungsprojekt (Musical) Improvisation and Ethics vor und berichten von ihren Methoden und den Forschungsergebnissen des ersten Projektjahrs; Träger des Projekts sind drei Universitäten, die Kunstuniversität Graz, die Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz und die Universität Wien.

Den Auftakt zu dem Symposium / Open Space: Improvisation und Ethik, am 27. Januar 2023 um 20:00 Uhr, bildet als 20. Ausgabe der Sound & Lecture-Reihe des exploratorium ein Werkstatt-Konzert mit Gespräch, überschrieben mit dem Titel: (Musical) Ethics Lab Satellite 1. Christopher Williams wirft gemeinsam mit Carl Ludwig Hübsch (Tuba), Christoph Irmer (Violine), Magda Mayas (Klavier), Nina Polaschegg (Kontrabass) und Wolfgang Schliemann (Perkussion) auf musikalische Weise Fragen zu den Bezügen zwischen Ethik und Improvisation auf und erörtert diese, moderiert von Mathias Maschat, mit den beteiligten Musiker*innen und dem Publikum.

Zeiten
27.01.2023, 20:00 Uhr: Auftakt-Konzert
28.01.2023, 10:00 Uhr: Beginn ­– Open End
29.01.2023, 10:30–15:30 Uhr

Tagungssprache: Vorwiegend deutsch; einzelne Beiträge erfolgen möglicherweise in Englisch.

© 1. Reihe: privat; 2. Reihe von links nach rechts: Daniel Espinoza, exploratorium berlin, Skoworonek FotoKonzept; 3. Reihe: Ulla Riedel, exploratorium berlin, Aitor Arruti

Details