exploratorium_2020-2

Download des aktuellen Programms

2020So01Nov20:00Activity Center || espresso & mud20:00 exploratorium berlin, Studio 1, entrance CBühne:Improvisation International

Zeit/Time

Sonntag, 01. 11. 2020 | 20:00

Ort/Location

exploratorium berlin, Studio 1, entrance C

Inhalt/Content

espresso & mud (AT)
Nina Polaschegg
– doublebass
Bruno Strobl
– electronics

Activity Center 30 years (DE)
Michael Renkel – strings & percussion
Burkhard Beins – percussion & strings

espresso & mud – a (virtual) double bass duo between improvisation and composition
A musicologist and music journalist who not only devotes herself to writing on (free) improvised music, but is also active as a double bass player, and a composer whose electronic compositions have much in common with the tonality and texture of many free improvisation and experimental music. Since 2012 they work together as an improvisation duo.
Nina Polaschegg uses in her play next to the purely painted and plucked bass sound numerous preparations to rethink the instrument and to develop nuances of tonal color. Bruno Strobl works with samples of different origins – some of them were written as part of his compositional work, many of them are close-up microphoned double-bass sounds by Nina Polaschegg. Pur played samples are next to heavily electronically alienated and thus form an equivalent to the multi-dimensional sound on the double bass. Third in the league is always the room. Its architectonics, its acoustics, its atmosphere, what they specifically include.

Activity Center 30 years
Over the course of 30 years Activity Center has developed a unique style of musical performance. Their distinctive way to “create spontaneous compositional structures” has been referred to as “improvised sound art” or “hand-played musique concrete” and described as “almost hyperactive yet never busy or overbearing, lining out a clear, highly defined space in which their sounds float about and bang into one another”. Their long sold out double-CD Möwen & Moos (1999) has been regarded as a milestone of its genre, while they have managed to build bridges between generations and styles with their CD Activity Center & Phil Minton in 2005. With Lohn & Brot, their most recent release from 2010, they have summed up their wide range of musical experience with electro-acoustic grit.
Activity Center was founded in 1989 when post-war Germany stumbled into a new era and post-punk finally felt worn out. Michael Renkel and Burkhard Beins played their first concert in the legendary Hannover underground club Silke Arp bricht, and their second one as part of a Günter Christmann VARIO project. After the duo had been the core of the Hamburger Salon for a while it re-established itself within the freshly evolving Berlin Echtzeitmusik scene around 1995. Their Berlin version of the 2:13 Club at Vollrads Tonsaal became a central meeting point of the so-called Berlin Reductionism and its like-minded companions from London throughout the late 1990’s – at a time when this musical episode didn’t have any names yet. Activity Center gained some recognition for playing its idiosyncratic version of it and consequently became one of the original ingredients of the reknown Berlin septet Phosphor at the turn of the millennium and throughout the decade of the group’s existence.

 

Admission: 12 / 10 / 6 Euro (normal price / reduced / Berlin Pass)

 

Currently the number of available seats is limited and a concert visit is only possible with advance booking. Please use the form below to make your booking no later than 14 hrs on the day of the concert. You will then receive further information. You can find exploratorium’s current rules of hygiene by clicking on this link.

In addition, the concert will be broadcast as a live stream via our YouTube channel. Therefore the start will be start on time!

 
Unser Medienpartner für dieses Konzert:

In this context we recommend concerts with improvised music in Kesselhaus.
Photocredits: lan Stenhouse (top), Klaus Kürvers (below)

Details

       

BUCHUNG

BOOKING

    Please register only in the form below if you are going to purchase the ticket(s) in advance by bank transfer.

    If you would like to buy tickets for more than one household, please book in several steps, as we plan the seating arrangements (subject to the minimum distance) according to the bookings.

    I consent to this website storing my submitted information so that my ticket reservation can be processed.*
    Yes

    (*Required, **Required data for Corona contact list Link).

    ANMELDUNG

    REGISTRATION

      Please register only in the form below if you are going to purchase the ticket(s) in advance by bank transfer.

      If you would like to buy tickets for more than one household, please book in several steps, as we plan the seating arrangements (subject to the minimum distance) according to the bookings.

      I consent to this website storing my submitted information so that my ticket reservation can be processed.*
      Yes

      (*Required, **Required data for Corona contact list Link).

      Anschrift

      exploratorium berlin
      Mehringdamm 55 (Sarotti-Höfe)
      10961 Berlin (Kreuzberg)

       

      Aufgang C: Saal 1 und Büro
      Aufgang D: Saal 2 und Bibliothek

       

      U-Mehringdamm (U6, U7)

      Kontakt

      030 – 84 72 10 52
      E-Mail an exploratorium berlin

      Bürozeiten

      Mo + Di 10.00–14.00
      Mi 14.00–18.00
      Do + Fr 10.00–14.00

      X

exploratorium_2020-2

Download des aktuellen Programms

2020So01Nov20:00EmpfehlungActivity Center || espresso & mud20:00 exploratorium berlin, Saal 1, Aufgang CBühne:Improvisation International

Zeit / Time

Sonntag, 01. 11. 2020 | 20:00

Ort / Location

exploratorium berlin, Saal 1, Aufgang C

Inhalt / Content

espresso & mud (AT)
Nina Polaschegg
– Kontrabass
Bruno Strobl
– Elektronik

Activity Center 30 years (DE)
Michael Renkel – strings & percussion
Burkhard Beins – percussion & strings

espresso & mud – ein (virtuelles) Kontrabassduo im Spannungsfeld von Improvisation und Komposition
Eine Musikwissenschaftlerin und Musikpublizistin, die sich nicht nur dem Schreiben über Musik der (freien) Improvisation widmet, sondern auch als Kontrabassistin aktiv ist und ein Komponist, dessen elektronische Kompositionen viel mit der Klanglichkeit und der Texturgebung manch freier Improvisation und experimenteller Musik gemeinsam hat. Seit 2012 arbeiten sie als Improvisations-Duo gemeinsam.

Nina Polaschegg verwendet in ihrem Spiel neben dem puren gestrichenen und gezupften Bassklang zahlreiche Präparationen, um das Instrument neu zu denken und klangfarbliche Nuancen zu entwickeln. Bruno Strobl arbeitet mit Samples unterschiedlicher Herkunft – einige sind im Rahmen seiner kompositorischen Arbeit entstanden, viele sind nah mikrophoniert aufgenommene Kontrabassklänge von Nina Polaschegg. Pur gespielte Samples stehen neben stark elektronisch verfremdeten und bilden so ein Äquivalent zur mehrdimensionalen Klanggebung am Kontrabass. Dritter im Bunde ist stets der Raum. Seine Architektonik, seine Akustik, seine Atmosphäre, beziehen sie gezielt mit ein.

Activity Center 30 years
Im Laufe von 30 Jahren hat Activity Center einen einzigartigen Stil musikalischer Performance entwickelt. Ihre unverwechselbare Art, „spontane kompositorische Strukturen zu schaffen“, wurde als „improvisierte Klangkunst“ oder „handgespielte Musique Concréte“ beschrieben, sie sei „almost hyperactive yet never busy or overbearing, lining out a clear, highly defined space in which their sounds float about and bang into one another“. Ihre seit langem vergriffene Doppel-CD Möwen & Moos (1999) gilt als Meilenstein ihres Genres, mit ihrer CD Activity Center & Phil Minton gelang ihnen 2005 der Brückenschlag zwischen Generationen und Stilen. Mit Lohn & Brot, ihrer letzten Veröffentlichung aus dem Jahr 2010, haben sie ihre große musikalische Erfahrung in einen elektro-akustischen Zusammenhang gestellt.

Activity Center wurde 1989 gegründet, als das Nachkriegs-Deutschland in eine neue Ära stolperte und Post-Punk sich schließlich abgenutzt hatte. Michael Renkel und Burkhard Beins spielten ihr erstes Konzert im legendären Hannoveraner Underground-Club Silke Arp bricht und ihr zweites Konzert im Rahmen des Günter Christmann-Projekts VARIO. Nachdem das Duo eine Zeit lang zentraler Kern des Hamburger Salons war, etablierte es sich in der neu entstehenden Berliner Echtzeitmusik-Szene um 1995. Ihre Berliner Version des 2:13 Club im Vollrads Tonsaal wurde zu einem zentralen Treffpunkt des sogenannten Berlin Reductionism und ihrer gleichgesinnten Gefährten aus London, in den späten 1990er Jahren – zu einer Zeit, als diese musikalische Episode noch keinen Namen hatte. Activity Center wurde für seine sehr eigenwillige Variante davon bekannt und beide Musiker waren dann zu Beginn des neuen Jahrtausends auch Gründungsmitglieder des einflussreichen Berliner Septetts Phosphor.

 

Eintritt: 12 / 10 / 6 Euro (Normalpreis / ermäßigt / Berlin-Pass)

 

Derzeit sind die zur Verfügung stehenden Plätze beschränkt und ein Konzertbesuch ist nur mit Vorab-Buchung möglich. Bitte buchen Sie per untenstehendem Formular bis spätestens 14 h am Konzerttag, Sie erhalten dann weitere Informationen. Die derzeit im exploratorium gültigen Hygieneregeln finden Sie über diesen Link.

Außerdem wird das Konzert über unseren Youtube-Kanal als Livestream übertragen. Der Konzertbeginn ist daher pünktlich!

 
Unser Medienpartner für dieses Konzert:

In diesem Zusammenhang empfehlen wir auch Improvisationskonzerte, die im Kesselhaus stattfinden.
Fotorechte: lan Stenhouse (oben), Klaus Kürvers (unten)

Details

       

BUCHUNG

BOOKING

    Bitte tragen Sie sich nur in dieses Formular ein, wenn Sie direkt im Anschluss den Kauf des/der Tickets im Voraus per Überweisung abschließen.

    Möchten Sie für mehr als einen Haushalt Tickets kaufen, buchen Sie bitte in mehreren Vorgängen, da wir die Sitzordnung (unter Einhaltung des Mindestabstands) entsprechend der Buchungen planen.

    Ich willige ein, dass diese Webseite meine übermittelten Informationen speichert, sodass meine Kartenreservierung bearbeitet werden kann.*
    ja

    (*Pflichtfeld, **erforderliche Daten für Corona-Kontaktpersonenliste Link).

    ANMELDUNG

    REGISTRATION

      Bitte tragen Sie sich nur in dieses Formular ein, wenn Sie direkt im Anschluss den Kauf des/der Tickets im Voraus per Überweisung abschließen.

      Möchten Sie für mehr als einen Haushalt Tickets kaufen, buchen Sie bitte in mehreren Vorgängen, da wir die Sitzordnung (unter Einhaltung des Mindestabstands) entsprechend der Buchungen planen.

      Ich willige ein, dass diese Webseite meine übermittelten Informationen speichert, sodass meine Kartenreservierung bearbeitet werden kann.*
      ja

      (*Pflichtfeld, **erforderliche Daten für Corona-Kontaktpersonenliste Link).

      Anschrift

      exploratorium berlin
      Mehringdamm 55 (Sarotti-Höfe)
      10961 Berlin (Kreuzberg)

       

      Aufgang C: Saal 1 und Büro
      Aufgang D: Saal 2 und Bibliothek

       

      U-Mehringdamm (U6, U7)

      Kontakt

      030 – 84 72 10 52
      E-Mail an exploratorium berlin

      Bürozeiten

      Mo + Di 10:00–14:00
      Mi 14:00–18:00
      Do + Fr 10:00–14:00

      X