exploratorium_2021-2

Download des aktuellen Programms

2022Fr07Jan20:00EmpfehlungMayas – Wassermann – Yassin20:00 exploratorium berlin, studio 1, entrance C + LivestreamBühne:Improvisation International

Improvisationskonzert mit Magda Mayas, Ute Wassermann, Raed Yassin

Zeit/Time

Freitag, 07. 01. 2022 | 20:00

Ort/Location

exploratorium berlin, studio 1, entrance C + Livestream

Inhalt/Content

Magda Mayas (DE) – piano
Ute Wassermann (DE) – vocal
Raed Yassin (LB/DE) – double bass, electronics

Magda Mayas, Ute Wassermann and Raed Yassin have been working together on various projects for many years. Their common trio has existed since 2020.

Over the past 20 years Magda Mayas developed a vocabulary utilizing both the inside as well as the exterior parts of the piano, using amplification, preparations and objects that become extensions of the instrument itself. Mayas explores textural, linear sound collage, and has developed a set of techniques that draw on the history of prepared and inside piano vocabulary, but are highly individualized and expand the language for internal piano music making. Alongside the piano, Mayas performs on a Clavinet/Pianet, an electric piano from the 60s with strings and metal chimes, where she engages with noise and more visceral sound material, equally extending the instrumental sound palette using extended techniques and devices. She holds a PhD in Fine Arts from the University of Gothenburg, Sweden. Since 2019, she is the program coordinator and teaches improvisation at Luzern University of applied Sciences and Arts.

Ute Wassermann has studied visual arts (sound installation, performance art) at the Academy of Fine Arts in Hamburg, and singing at the University of California, San Diego. She tours the world as an improviser, she realizes audiovisual voice performances / installations and compositions for soloists and ensembles. At the core of her research is an ongoing and uncompromised exploration of her voice. Ute Wassermann´s otherworldly singing transcends the human voice. She sings multidimensional sculptural sounds oscillating between electronic, animalistic, inorganic and human qualities. Sound environments are an important source for her imagination. Ute creates imaginary acoustic habitats in which her chameleon like voice is tuning in with composed or found soundscapes. Her methods to extend and alienate the voice include the use of bird whistles, lo-fi electronics, resonators, field recordings and different types of microphones. Her performances engage with everyday objects or self invented instruments for voice which can take shape as acoustic costumes.

Raed Yassin is an artist and musician. He graduated from the theater department at the Institute of Fine Arts in Beirut in 2003, and since then has developed his conceptual practice through multiple mediums such as video, sound, photography, text, sculpture and performance. As a musician, Raed Yassin has been a key member in the Lebanese underground music scene for many years. One of the organizers of the Irtijal Festival of Experimental Music from its early beginnings, he founded his concept music label Annihaya in 2009. He is a member of several bands and groups, including “A” Trio and PRAED among others. As a double bassist, he developed a personal and independent extended technique, by employing different preparations and objects on his instrument. His interest here relies heavily on textures, energies and vibrations, the density of volume and sound, rather than conventional melodic structures. Also an electronic musician and experimental turntablist, his approach to vinyl ranges from deconstructing Arab pop music, to reexamining the traditional music archives of countries from the global south. With his duo band PRAED (along with Paed Conca), he acts as the lead singer and synth player, merging free jazz with psychedelic rock and Egyptian Shaabi music. Raed currently lives between Berlin and Beirut.

 

Admission: 12/10/6 € (normal price/reduced/Berlin-Pass)

 

The concert will also be livestreamed via our YouTube channel:
https://www.youtube.com/exploratoriumberlin

© Cristina Marx / Photomusix

Details

       

BUCHUNG

BOOKING

    Please register only in the form below if you are going to purchase the ticket(s) in advance by bank transfer.

    If you would like to buy tickets for more than one household, please book in several steps, as we plan the seating arrangements (subject to the minimum distance) according to the bookings.

    I consent to this website storing my submitted information so that my ticket reservation can be processed.*
    Yes

    (*Required, **Required data for Corona contact list Link).


    ANMELDUNG

    REGISTRATION

      Please register only in the form below if you are going to purchase the ticket(s) in advance by bank transfer.

      If you would like to buy tickets for more than one household, please book in several steps, as we plan the seating arrangements (subject to the minimum distance) according to the bookings.

      I consent to this website storing my submitted information so that my ticket reservation can be processed.*
      Yes

      (*Required, **Required data for Corona contact list Link).


      X

exploratorium_2022-1

Download des aktuellen Programms

2022Fr07Jan20:00Mayas – Wassermann – Yassin20:00 exploratorium berlin, Saal 1, Aufgang C + LivestreamBühne:Improvisation International

Improvisationskonzert mit Magda Mayas, Ute Wassermann, Raed Yassin

Zeit/Time

Freitag, 07. 01. 2022 | 20:00

Ort/Location

exploratorium berlin, Saal 1, Aufgang C + Livestream

Inhalt/Content

MAYAS – WASSERMANN – YASSIN: NOW LIVE: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cxFNjgiiEwU

Magda Mayas (DE) – Klavier
Ute Wassermann (DE) – Stimme
Raed Yassin (LB/DE) – Kontrabass, Elektronik

Magda Mayas, Ute Wassermann und Raed Yassin verbindet eine jahrelange Zusammenarbeit in verschiedenen Projekten. Ihr gemeinsames Trio existiert seit 2020.

In den letzten 20 Jahren hat Magda Mayas ein Vokabular entwickelt, das sowohl die inneren als auch die äußeren Teile des Klaviers verwendet, ebenso wie Verstärkungen, Präparierungen und Objekte, die zu Erweiterungen des Instruments selbst werden. Mayas erforscht strukturelle, lineare Klangcollagen und hat eine Reihe von Techniken entwickelt, die sich auf die Geschichte des präparierten und inneren Klaviervokabulars stützen, aber stark individualisiert sind und die Sprache für das Innenklavier-Spiel erweitern. Neben Klavier spielt Mayas auf einem Clavinet/Pianet, einem E-Piano aus den 60er Jahren mit Saiten und Metallplatten, wo sie sich mit Geräuschen und viszeralerem Klangmaterial beschäftigt und die instrumentale Klangpalette mit erweiterten Techniken und Objekten gleichermaßen erweitert. Sie promovierte an der Universität Göteborg, Schweden. Seit 2019 ist sie Programmkoordinatorin und Improvisationsdozentin an der Hochschule Luzern.

Ute Wassermann hat bildende Kunst (Klanginstallation, Performancekunst) an der Hochschule für bildende Künste in Hamburg und Gesang an der University of California, San Diego, studiert. Als Improvisatorin tourt sie durch die Welt, realisiert audiovisuelle Stimmperformances / Installationen und Kompositionen für Solisten und Ensembles. Im Zentrum ihrer Forschung steht die kontinuierliche und kompromisslose Erforschung ihrer Stimme. Ute Wassermanns überirdischer Gesang geht über die menschliche Stimme hinaus. Sie singt mehrdimensionale skulpturale Klänge, die zwischen elektronischen, animalischen, anorganischen und menschlichen Qualitäten oszillieren. Klangumgebungen sind eine wichtige Quelle für ihre Fantasie. Sie schafft imaginäre akustische Lebensräume, in denen sich ihre chamäleonartige Stimme auf komponierte oder gefundene Klanglandschaften einstimmt. Ihre Methoden zur Erweiterung und Verfremdung der Stimme umfassen den Einsatz von Vogelpfeifen, Lo-Fi-Elektronik, Resonatoren, Fieldrecordings und verschiedenen Arten von Mikrofonen. Ihre Performances beschäftigen sich mit Alltagsgegenständen oder selbst erfundenen Stimminstrumenten, die als akustische Kostüme Gestalt annehmen können.

Raed Yassin ist Künstler und Musiker. 2003 schloss er sein Studium an der Theaterabteilung des Institute of Fine Arts in Beirut ab und hat seitdem seine konzeptionelle Herangehensweise mit verschiedenen Medien wie Video, Sound, Fotografie, Text, Skulptur und Performance weiterentwickelt. Als Musiker ist Raed Yassin seit vielen Jahren ein wichtiger Teil der libanesischen Underground-Musikszene. Er war von Anfang an einer der Organisatoren des Irtijal Festival of Experimental Music und gründete 2009 sein Musiklabel Annihaya. Er ist Mitglied mehrerer Bands und Gruppen, darunter „A“ Trio und PRAED. Als Kontrabassist entwickelte er eine persönliche und eigenständige erweiterte Technik, indem er verschiedene Präparationen und Gegenstände auf seinem Instrument einsetzte. Sein Interesse richtet sich hier stark auf Texturen, Energien und Vibrationen, die Dichte von Lautstärke und Klang, anstatt auf konventionelle melodische Strukturen. Als elektronischer Musiker und experimenteller Turntablist reicht seine Herangehensweise an Vinyl von der Dekonstruktion arabischer Popmusik bis hin zur Nutzung der traditionellen Musikarchive von Ländern des globalen Südens. Mit seiner Duo-Band PRAED (zusammen mit Paed Conca) agiert er als Leadsänger und Synthesizer-Spieler und verbindet Free Jazz mit Psychedelic Rock und ägyptischer Shaabi-Musik. Raed lebt derzeit zwischen Berlin und Beirut.

 

Eintritt: 12/10/6 € (Normalpreis/ermäßigter Preis/Berlin-Pass)

 

Das Konzert wird auch per Livestream über unseren YouTube-Kanal übertragen:
https://www.youtube.com/exploratoriumberlin

 

Magda Mayas gibt am Samstag, den 8. Januar einen Workshop spezial „Wege zum eigenen Klang“

 

Nach aktuellem Stand gilt für dieses Konzert die 2G Plus-Regelung: zugelassen sind nur Geimpfte und Genesene (bitte Nachweis vorzeigen!). Außerdem gilt Maskenpflicht (auch am Platz) und wir bitten um Einhaltung des 1,5 m-Abstands. Ein zusätzlicher tagesaktueller Test wird empfohlen, ist aber nicht verpflichtend.

Alle für das exploratorium relevanten Corona-Regelungen sind hier zusammengefasst: https://exploratorium-berlin.de/corona-regeln/

© Cristina Marx / Photomusix

Details

       

RESERVIERUNG

RESERVATION

ANMELDUNG

REGISTRATION